Literature and Criticism: Selected Indexes to Creative Works

Electronic Indexes for Short Stories and Poetry:
 

• Short Story Index Online : Indexes short stories published in periodicals, 1974- current.

• JSTOR : JSTOR also indexes a number of journals that publish creative works.

• Periodicals Index Online
  
  Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) contains more than 1 million citations to articles in more than 3,000 journals from 1770-1995. These journals represent popular and scholarly titles in the humanities and social sciences. 1,000,000 citations are added annually. Many creative journals are indexed in PCI.
   
• Periodicals Archive Online: Full text, indexes some creative journals.

• Proquest Historical Newspapers: Especially for historical Black newspapers.

• Ethnic American Newspapers (Balch Collection): For poetry limit advance search to Article Type (Poetry)

• Hispanica American Newspapers (1808- 1980): Also may limit to Poetry under Article Type

Paper Indexes to Poems in Anthologies:

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies. Latests in Reference.
Indexes poems published in anthologies. Includes indexes for: Title, First Line, Last Line, Author and Subject.

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works. Latest in Reference.
Indexes for: Title, First Line, Author and Subject.

Hoffman's Index to Poetry: European and Latin American Poetry in Anthologies.
Intended as a supplement to Granger's.

Last Lines: An Index to the Last Lines of Poetry. 2 vol.
Indexes poems originally written in English or translated into English and published in anthologies between 1900 and 1987. Includes indexes for: Last Line, Title, Author and Keyword.

Paper Indexes to Poems in Periodicals:

Index of American Periodical Verse :Indexes poetry published in periodicals, 1971-current.

Comprehensive index to English-language little magazines, 1890-1970 (Sader)

Index to American Little Magazines. Troy, N.Y. : Whitston, 1969-1974.

Index to Little Magazines. Denver: A. Swallow, 1949-c1970.

Index to Poetry in Periodicals, American Poetic Renaissance, 1915-1919: An index of Poets and Poems Published in American Magazines and Newspapers.

Index to Poetry in Periodicals, 1920-1924: An Index of Poets and Poems Published in American Magazines and Newspapers.

Index to Poetry in Periodicals, 1925-1929: An Index of Poets and Poems Published in American Magazines and Newspapers.