Skip to main content
Michigan State University

British Policy in the Middle East, 1914-1948: Bibliographies

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are works that list and describe other works to read on various topics.  Using them helps a scholar build a more comprehensive bibliography than using just our online catalog and various periodical indexes. Notice the date of publication, though, and be sure to use other sources to find more recently written material.

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature  Main and Reference DA 20 .A55 1995

Click in the middle of our online catalog entry to access the online version.  See volume one, section 18 and volume one, section 24.  Following the historiographical introduction of each section there is an outline of each section.  Use the plus (+) sign to enlarge the print in the online version.

Reader's Guide to British History Reference DA 34 .R43 2003 v. 1-2

See v. 1, pp. 342-345, or v. 2, pp. 850-851, 996-997. 

British Foreign Policy, 1918-1945, a Guide to Research and Research Materials  Main DA 578 .A85 1991

Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial, and Commonwealth History Since 1600  Main DA 123 .B53 2002

See pp. 42-43, 49-50, 536-549, 592-595, 840-845, 852.

Bibliography of British History, 1914-1989 Main DA 566 .R63 1996

See pp. 315-342.

British History, 1945-1987, an Annotated Bibliography Main DA 592 .C37 1991

See pp. 128-130, 132-135, 139-140

History Highway: a 21st Century Guide to Internet Resources Reference and DMC 4 West (CD) D 16.117 .H55 2006

An annotated bibliography of web sites.

Iraq Main  DS  70.6 .A66 1995

Israel and the West Bank and Gaza Strip Main DS 102.95 .B55 1994

Britain in the Middle East, 1921-1956, an Annotated Bibliography Main DS 63.2 .G7 P6 1990

Britain's Elusive Empire in the Middle East, 1900-1921, an Annotated Bibliography Main Z 3014 .R44 O47

Middle East in Conflict, a Historical Bibliography Main DS 119.7 .M4715 1985

Published by the company editing Historical Abstracts database so will have the items found there.

Jordan Main DS 153 .S43 1984

Britain and Palestine, 1914-1948, Archival Sources for the History of the British Mandate Main Z 6374 .Z5 J65

Modern European Imperialism, a Bibliography of Books and Articles, 1815-1972 Main Z 6204 .H35 v. 1-2

Subject Catalogue of the Library of the Royal Empire Society Main Z 7164 .C7 R82 1967 v. 1-4

History of Christian-Muslim Relations

Look up this series title in our online catalog.  We have some volumes in paper and access to a lot of the volumes online in the E Book package from Brill publisher in their Middle East and Islamic Studies Online series. 

Christian Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History

Volume 11 of the series above is supposed to be a sub-series of 7 volumes called Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History.  These volumes go chronologically by date.  The volumes contain a combination of secondary history writing on topics, but also dictionary type entries about particular texts along with bibliographical references to writings about them. These are long, dense books.  The online versions take a long time to actually load up on your computer to see the full texts.

Michigan State University