Skip to main content
Michigan State University

British Policy in the Middle East, 1914-1948: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Primary sources are works written at the time a particular historical event happened, or during the time a particular historical subject lived.  They may be found in books via the online catalog, online in websites the M.S.U. Libraries owns or subscribes to, in periodical or newspaper articles written at the time, on microform, in government documents, or in free websites produced by scholars.  Artworks, museum objects, or historical recordings may also be primary sources. 

Works by a historical subject, a person's memoirs, journals, or correspondence are primary sources.  In the online catalog watch for words in book titles indicating primary source content:  autobiography, memoir, journal, diary, letters, correspondence, speeches.  Sometimes primary sources in the online catalog have sub-headings like these:  sources, sources and documents, archives, personal narratives, correspondence.  For example:  League of Nations--sources; Paris Peace Conference--sources. Published collections of primary sources exist also.  They may be huge sets of government documents or one volume compilations of selected, reprinted, primary sources on a topic. 

Our Special Collections contains all the rare books and specially valuable, one-of-a-kind items in M.S.U. Libraries.  SPC is in the basement of M.S.U. Libraries.  It is open 9-5 Monday through Friday, and 1-5 on Sunday.  Find what is there on the Middle East.  To do this do an online catalog search for subjects:  Middle East or Palestine or Iraq or Jordan.  Choose to have your retrieval contain Special Collections' materials only.  And ask for the date range 1900 to 1949. Go see and use some real, rare books!

First some online full-text databases are listed, then some print sets that are compilations or anthologies of primary sources, then some information on using the British government documents we have online, on microform, and on paper in the stacks.

Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010 (London)

World’s most authoritative daily business newspaper

Daily Mail Historical Archive 1842-2004 (London)

Manchester Guardian 1901-1959

Observer (London) 1901-2003

Telegraph Historical Archive

1855-2000 One of the world's highest circulating newspapers in the English language.  Includes also the Sunday issues from 1961-2000.  The BBC describes it as "the newspaper of the establishment."  We also offer this newspaper post 2000, here.

Diplomacy in the Near and Middle East: a Documentary Record, 1553-1956 Main DS 42 .H78 1987

Diplomacy in the Near and Middle East: a Documentary Record  Main DS 42 .H78 v. 1-2 earlier edition to above

Middle East 1914-1979 Main DS 119.7 .M4717

Archives of Empire, Volume 1, From the East India Company to the Suez Canal Main DA 16 .A73 2003 v. 1

See chapters X, XI, XII, XIII, XIV, which cover the Suez Canal, the Arab uprising in Egypt 1869-82, and pilgrims, travelers, and tourists in the Holy Land in the late 19th through early 20th centuries.

Finding British Parliamentary Papers in the M.S.U. Libraries is our in-house research guide for use of the British Parliamentary Papers.  There are two editions, 2000 and 2007.  The latter contains more links to online resources.  You can make an appointment with Agnes Haigh Widder, Humanities Bibliographer, to learn to use this material.  Here are links to the most commonly used items and call numbers for some important print sources:

Parliamentary Debates (House of Lords) Main J 301 .H223 Ser. 5 v. 2-457

Parliamentary Debates (House of Commons) Main J 301 .H224 Ser. 5 v. 1-1000

The Debates contain written versions of the speeches made in each House.  There is a set of volumes for each Parliamentary Session, one for the Lords, and another for the Commons.  Look for the subject/name indexes in the back of the final volume for the session to find speeches by particular M.P.s or on particular topics and page references.  The online version of the Debates that we offer through the online version of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers is not superb; you may want to use the print vols.

British Government Publications, an Index to Chairmen of Committees and Commissions of Inquiry, 1800-1978.  Main Z 2009 .R535 1982 v. 1-3

See v. 2.  Many documents are known by the name of the committee/commission chair.  Provides the citation info needed to find the document in the Sessional Papers in microprint 10 of the Sessional Papers.

Century of Diplomatic Blue Books, 1814-1919 Main Z 2009 .T28

Breviate of Diplomatic Blue Books, 1919-1939 Main Z 1009 .V6

These two books provide citations to documents in the Sessional Papers about foreign affairs.

Michigan State University