Skip to main content
Michigan State University

EndNote & EndNote Online: General Information

Information about Endnote, the popular reference manager software program. Last updated: 1/31/17.

EndNote & EndNote Online

EndNote is a reference manager software program that allows you to collect and organize your references and to create bibliographies. It allows you to either type in or capture references from our Electronic Resources. Using EndNote, you can create bibliographies within Microsoft Word or other word-processors. EndNote is able to format bibliographies in almost every conceivable bibliographic citation style, such as APA, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, Turabian, Science and other journal-specific bibliographic citation styles.

Have an older version of Endnote and considering upgrading? This chart provides a helpful comparison between some of the recent versions of Endnote:

Endnote Online (formerly Endnote Web) is an online version of EndNote. Anyone can sign up for a free Basic account, but some features and functionality is limited. A Premium Endnote Online account is available for free to MSU users through the MSU Libraries subscription to Web of Science, which can be accessed from the electronic resources page.

This chart provides a helpful comparison between Endnote X7 and Endnote Online:

Besides being free, the major advantage of EndNote Online is that you can access your account from any computer that has an internet connection (as long as you can access the MSU Libraries' electronic resources). Many users like to try out EndNote Online to see if it will meet their needs before they purchase the regular EndNote software. With EndNote Online, it is possible to share libraries with other EndNote Online users - making collaboration easy. EndNote Online can also work with EndNote desktop software so you can move references between the two (version 10 or higher).

Availability at MSU

Endnote just released a new version, X8, in November 2016, however, the previous version (X7) is still being on campus workstations and in the MSU Libraries' training sessions.

EndNote is installed on all of the Windows-based Microlab workstations around campus, including the "Full Set of Applications" workstations in the Library. You may purchase a copy of EndNote for your own computer at the MSU Technology StoreNote: As of December 2016 the MSU Computer Store is still selling version X7.

On a Microlab computer to use Word with EndNote and have the interconnection of the two work together; you must start EndNote first before opening Word. EndNote stores some files temporarily when it opens that Word needs to have the interconnection. If you do not see the tab for Endnote in Word, run the file at Start > All Programs > MSU Libraries > Endnote Word Plugin to install the plugin.

Current MSU students, faculty, and staff can access Endnote Online through the Libraries' subscription to Web of Science. Look for the 'EndNote' link in the black bar at the top of the page. Off-campus access to Web of Science requires a MSU NetID and password.

The first time you use EndNote Web through Web of Science you will need to register for a free EndNote Online account. Instructions are provided for creating a new account - please note that there are very specific requirements for creating a password.

Endnote Online Access After Leaving MSU

Endnote Online has a roaming profile feature that allows users to log into Endnote Online from a computer that does not have an authenticated session. Roaming is available if you have Endnote Online Premium through an institutional subscription and does not apply if you have Endnote Online from an Endnote software purchase.

Once users are no longer affiliated with MSU, roaming access for Endnote Online Premium accounts will be valid for 12 months from the date that the user last logged into Endnote Online from an authenticated IP address. You can check the roaming status from the Account Information option under individual Endnote Online accounts. More information abut Endnote Online roaming access is available from the Endnote Online help portal.

Once the roaming period is over your Endnote Online account will revert to the Basic version with reduced storage capacity and limited citation styles.

It is recommended that users change the email used to sign-in to Endnote Online from their MSU email address to a personal email address before leaving MSU. To change the email address, access your Endnote Online account and click on Options > E-Mail Address.

If you move to another institution with access to Web of Science, please contact Endnote technical support so your existing Endnote Online account can be association to the new institution. 

Endnote X8

The newest version of Endnote, Endnote X8, is now available for Windows and Mac. A free 30-day trial is available for download from the Endnote website. Note: If you purchased version X7 you can upgrade to the new version at a reduced price.

New features include the ability to share your entire library, including attachments, with up to 100 users, and the ability to track changes and activity in a shared library.

Endnote Online Basic vs. Premium

Endnote now offers a free version of Endnote, called Endnote Online, that is available in both Basic and Premium versions. Both are free to sign up for.

Endnote Online Basic allows up to 50,000 references, 2 GB of attachment storage, 21 bibliographic styles, and online searching of 5 databases.

Endote Online Premium is available to through the MSU Libraries' subscription to Web of Science. Premium allows up to 50,000 references, 2 GB of attachment storage, over 3300 bibliographic styles, and online searching of over 1800 databases.

Endnote App for iPad

An Endnote app for the iPad is now available. More information on the app is available from the Endnote website, and the app can be downloaded from the Apple App Store.

The app is currently available to all users for Free.

Michigan State University