Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Grants and Related Resources: Background Information

A compilation of resources for grant and financial aid seekers.

Foundation Center

The MSU Main Library is a member of the Foundation Center's Funding Information Network.  The library has created an alcove called the Funding Center (on 1 East) which includes grant and financial aid directories, plus many additional books on fundraising, grant or proposal writing, the creation and management of nonprofits, and philanthropy in general.  Anyone can visit the Main Library and use these resources any time the library is open.  If you request a community borrower's card, you can also check out items from this collection.  They can also be requested through interlibrary loan.  If you wish, you can take a look at Grantsmanship Techniques for an alphabetical, annotated list of most of the books available in  the Funding Center.

Hours of operation : Check this page to see when the MSU Main Library is open.  Click on Reference to see when staff are available to offer assistance.

Jon Harrison Interviewed by Bonnie Bucqueroux about the Collection and Resources on YouTube. Also available on MediaSpace. 2016.

Take a look at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SocyYAF2XOo around the 1:35 mark to hear Neal R. Hagerty, Vice President for Programs at the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation in Flint, Chairman of the Board for the Council of Michigan Foundations, and a current Board of Trustees member of the Foundation Center give a shout out for the Michigan State University Libraries Funding Center for helping him do research  and investigate employment opportunities while a graduate student at MSU.  Hagerty goes on to provide an overview of current philanthropic trends (October 2017).

The Funding Information Network Partner Directory

Interested in finding a Funding Information Network Partner Library closer to home?  Click here for the Foundation Center's Directory of Funding Information Network Partner Libraries.  Resources and services vary from one collection to the next. Be sure to contact your closest Funding Information Network partner to find out what resources and services are available there. Then you can decide whether you want to travel further afield.

A Directory of Michigan Libraries that provide access to the Foundation Directory Online Professional, Foundation Grants for Individuals, and other resources.

Online Resources Provided by the Foundation Center

Foundation Center Home Page.  The Foundation Center is a national nonprofit service organization recognized as the nation’s leading authority on organized philanthropy. Check out the FC's home page for a variety of information and tools, including a link to Foundation Directory Quick Start, a limited version of Foundation Directory Online Professional. (Free registration required)

Foundation Directory Online Professional.  The cadillac of all funding databases. 

Created and maintained by the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDOP) database provides access to detailed profiles on over 140,000 private and corporate foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, and federal agency funders.  Updated weekly.  Includes contact information and social media links. Also provides information on grant recipients, over 8 million recently awarded grants, and over a million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.  Now available across all MSU IP Ranges and to anyone who has a current MSU ID and password.  Non-affiliated visitors can request access at the Main Library Reference Desk.  Note: A new search interface was released in late September 2017.  Until updated tutorials are provided, use the following resources for temporary guidance:

FDO Field Definitions.  Geared toward individual subscriptions, but is still helpful for MSU's institution-wide interface.

Learn more about the Foundation Center's Taxonomy

Introduction to Finding Grants (YouTube)

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online  (Main Library IP Address Access Only) : Detailed information on more than 8,300 foundations that give grants or scholarships to individuals.  Note : access only available in Main Library.

GrantSpace.  A wonderful portal to free information available from the Foundation Center sorted by subjects, skills, classroom, tools, blog.  Also provides sample Prospect Worksheets and access to a GrantSpace Blog for grantseekers.

Philanthropy News Digest (PND).  A daily news service of the Foundation Center. It is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. There is a searchable archive of past articles in the upper left corner of the PND site.

Requests for Proposals.  PND also provides information on requests for proposals by large national funders sorted by subject.

Foundation Center via Facebook.

Foundation Center via Twitter.

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature.  This resource guide can be used to identify additional books and journal articles on a wide variety of related topics.   Many of these books and journals are available in the MSU Libraries, but if they are not you can contact the Funding Center Supervisor (Jon Harrison) or the Reference staff about retrieving them.  Most articles can be requested directly from the Foundation Center as a benefit of our membership.  Books can be obtained through interlibrary loan.

Foundation Maps.  Find out who's funding what and where around the world.  A data visualization tool.

Foundation Stats.  The Foundation Center's Foundation Stats provides the most comprehensive resource available for generating tables and charts on the size, scope, and giving priorities of the U.S. foundation community.

Glasspockets. A Foundation Center initiative that champions philanthropic transparency in an online world. Launched in 2010, but with roots dating back to the Center’s founding in 1956, Glasspockets provides the data, resources, examples, and action steps foundations need to understand the value of transparency, be more open in their own communications, and help shed more light on how private organizations are serving the public good.

International Visitor Portal. Pulls together information for visitors from countries outside the United States and/or helps people seeking information on international grantmaking by U.S. foundations. There are FAQs, webographies, and links to many resources.

Issue Lab.  Provides a search engine and a full-text collection of over 7000 foundation-sponsored reports.

Map of Cross Border Giving was discontinued in March 2017; however access still remains to Map of International Grants where you can use a map to see recipients and funders in a specific country. Funder names link to their basic profiles in Foundation Directory Online Quick Start.  Note:  the same information can be retrieved through the Foundation Directory Online Professional.

Ask the Online Librarian.  Want to tap the expertise of the Foundation Center staff?  Check out this page with answers to many questions, but also a link to a chat interface and an online form for submitting email questions.

Grants and Related Resources Blog

The MSU Libraries Funding Center provides a Grants and Related Resources Blog for those who like to keep up with the latest information.  Here you can find the table of contents and links to the Grant Advisor (subscription service), Research Development and Grant Writing News (subscription service), meeting announcements, and other news.

Grants and Related Resources

My original Grants and Related Resources web page is still available.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University