LibGuides: Grants and Related Resources: Researching Potential Funders

Identify Possible Collaborators

Faculty Insight
Search tool enabling researchers to find targeted funding opportunities and experts at their institution. Grant opportunities are updated daily and include ~40,000 open funding opportunities from over 10,000 public and private entities. MSU Authorized Users only.
MSU Scholars
Highlights the visibility and research activity of MSU faculty, identifying experts for local, state, national, and international research and business communities. Faculty can login and search for funding opportunities, as well as other subject experts with whom to collaborate.
MSU Experts Directory
Although this directory is designed for journalists, others may want to explore it to find MSU experts in their fields.

Organizations & Associations

Council of Michigan Foundations Membership Directory
Directory of Michigan Foundations. Users can look up members including community foundations, corporate foundations, corporate giving programs, family foundations, independent foundations, public charities, and individuals.

GuideStar Pro This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only 3 users at a time.**
GuideStar Pro provides mission, program, and financial information on 1.8 million nonprofit organizations. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets, as well as organization reviews, annual reports, key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms.

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. by Gale Research
Publication Date: 2017
Available as a Gale eBook through MeL (available to Michigan residents and Michigan Libraries). Search by organization name or subject to find details on more than 24,000 nonprofit American membership organizations of national and multi-national scope.

Recommended Databases and Directories

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
According to the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDOP) database provides subscribers with unprecedented access to a wide array of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes information on nearly 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs (with sponsoring company information), and grantmaking public charities, as well as a searchable database of 500,000 recently awarded grants. Includes Foundation Grants to Individuals as of March 2024.
The new "Foundation Portfolio" feature organizes funder-specific content in one convenient location in the application, and includes: the funder profile and most recent 990s and, particularly for the larger foundations: the ability to search within a funder's grants list, using customized search indexes; full-color downloadable charts that show the distribution of the funder's grants in multiple categories; funder-related news, requests for proposals (RPFs), job opportunities, publications and articles (updated daily); and trustees, officers, donors, and other key staff, with titles and affiliations. A special 990 Search feature allows subscribers to search across the text of every 990 that we have in our database attached to a grantmaker record. Updated weekly.

Foundation Directory Online Quick Start
A limited version of the Foundation Directory Online. Free registration is required.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online This link opens in a new window
**Now included in Foundation Directory**
Includes descriptions of more than 6,000 foundations and public charities that fund individual grant-seekers, and is searchable by nine different criteria. Records provide contact information, financial data, application information, and program descriptions, with links to more than 500 foundation Web sites. Updated quarterly.

Grants.gov
Search grant opportunities from U.S. government agencies.

The Grants Register 2025 - The Complete Guide to Postgraduate Funding Worldwide by Palgrave Macmillan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2024
nternational coverage of grants in 58 countries, both English and non-English speaking; details on over 6,000 awards offered by over 1,300 awarding bodies, arranged alphabetically. Includes index by subject and eligibility. Awards intended for students at or above the postgraduate level or those who require further professional or advanced vocational training.

GrantSelect This link opens in a new window
An extensive online grants database owned and operated by Schoolhouse Partners, containing more than 20,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 5,000 unique sponsoring organizations.
Each record also includes, where available: URLs to more information on the funding opportunity, deadline date(s), restrictions on who may apply (including geographic restrictions), lists of previous awards, amount(s) of grant or award, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance number, populations encouraged to apply (e.g., women, minorities, disabled), RFA and PA numbers for NIH grants, and program numbers for NSF grants. Funding opportunities range from pure research grants to arts programs, biomedical and health care research, community services programs, children and youth programs, and K-12 education funding. Sponsoring organizations include federal government agencies (including NIH, NSF, Centers for Disease Control, and many others), foundations and other nonprofit organizations, corporations and corporate foundations, research institutes, state agencies, and universities.

Proposal Central (Free, but requires Registration)
Altum, Inc. runs this site utilized by some private foundations and many voluntary health organizations such as the American Cancer Society, Juvenile Diabetes Foundation, American Lung Association, Epilepsy Foundation, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and Muscular Dystrophy Association for receipt of on-line applications.

Online Funding Newsletters

The Grant Advisor (Subscription service)
A monthly newsletter (except July) providing grant and fellowship information of interest to academic faculty and graduate students. Includes hypertext links to organization websites as well as electronic form letters for those organizations providing e-mail access. Deadline Memos are sorted into the following categories:

Education Links	Fine Arts Links	Health Related Links
Humanities Links	Sciences Links	Social Sciences Links
International Links	Minorities/Women Links	Unrestricted/Other Links
.	Federal Register Links	.