Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Michigan Wine and Enology Research Guide: Article Research

This guide identifies scholarly information and Michigan-regional resources on wine science, i.e. enology.

Articles - the basics

Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study.

Most professors and researchers prefer articles that are "scholarly" in nature.  Characteristics of scholarly journals are that they have the following qualities:

  • The articles contain original research (such as scientific experiments, surveys and research studies)
  • A list of references or sources is provided at the end of each article
  • An editorial board, composed of experts in the field, reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted; this is also known as "refereed," "peer-reviewed," "professional," or "academic".
  • Uses a specialized vocabulary for that field.
  • Contain few if any advertisements. If included, they are highly specialized and specific to scholarly discipline (i.e. specific laboratory equipment, medical tools and drugs).
  • If you are uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you all look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database Ulrichs Periodical Directory (UlrichsWeb).  This database will tell you about the journal including the nature, it's audience, and in which databases it is indexed and abstracted.

The Library Catalog contains the titles to all of the print and electronic format journals that we subscribe to.  The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals. The individual articles can be found in article databases.

Citation searching: If you have a citation to an article, the easiest way to locate the article is to look up the title of the journal in the catalog.  Identify whether we own the journal and the format, print or electronic.  If in electronic format, do we have that year/volume? If yes, you can click on the link provided to go directly to the online articles and find the one you need.  If it is not online, do we have it in print?  If so, identify the call number and go to the stacks to find the proper volume and issue.  If we do not own the journal or issue, you can request the article through Interlibrary Services.

Article Databases - 1st Choices

CAB Abstracts, 1972-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), 1969-
FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering. Some 1800 publications in over 40 languages are scanned regularly, including journals, reviews, standards, legislation, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (including Alternative Health Module)
Provides access to an integrated collection of general interest and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets, including ADA Journal, JAMA, Food Chemical News, Topics in Clinical Nutrition, Prevention, and Vegetarian Journal. Many of the articles are available full-text.
Authoritative information on wine, wine making and grape growing, including the business, technology and history associated with wine. This database is produced by the Sonoma County Wine Library to make its clipping files of articles on wine, winemaking, grape growing, the wine business and the history of wine accessible on the World Wide Web. The items in the database include citations, abstracts and links to articles in the technical, academic, trade and consumer wine magazines and journals. There are also newspaper articles, government documents, press releases, advertising brochures and other ephemera dealing with wine. The coverage is worldwide with a special emphasis on California.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Retrospective to 1996, it contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts (since 1975) from over 3,800 international biomedical journals published in the US and 70 other countries. If you prefer, this is the link to the MEDLINE ISI search interface.

Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.

Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Article Databases - 2nd Choices

Enology Notes Technical Briefs, from Virginia Tech.
A subject index is available to all past issues and articles which are online.

Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.

ReferenceUSA (U.S. and Canadian Business)
Contains information on over 14 million U.S. and over 1.4 million Canadian businesses.

AGRICOLA  (now on EBSCOhost!)
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.

Public access link to NAL's catalog, Agricola
If you don't want to search Agricola using the EBSCOhost interface, this link is to the publicly-accessible Agricola search.

Marketing Sources

Business Source Complete
Contains content from scholarly business journals, including the full text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

ABI/INFORM Complete  
ABI/INFORM provides current news and scholarly journal articles in all aspects of business. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times. Also includes market, industry, and country research. Be sure to browse the featured page to learn more about what is available. **Macs may have trouble opening PDFs. Click the "i" button for info**

General Business File ASAP
Provides access to company profiles and current news and scholarly journal articles on companies, industries, products and executives.

Subject Guide

Suzanne Teghtmeyer
Main Library
366 W. Circle Dr.
East Lansing, MI 48824

Website / Blog Page
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University