LibGuides: CVM Summer Research Program: Background Knowledge

Background Knowledge

The resources on this page can be helpful when learning about a new topic. They include comprehensive overviews, definitions of complex terminology, and in-depth reference lists that can be consulted for further resources.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Contains introductory and advanced articles on many different biological topics, written by experts and continuously updated.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Features information on almost 2,000 medical topics and almost 900 color illustrations, images, charts, and statistical tables. Entries are reviewed by an advisory board of medical experts.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of Biology
The perfect guide for anyone studying biology, with more than 5,500 clear and concise entries providing comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Includes definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.
Concise Medical Dictionary
This illustrated dictionary contains 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

CVM Summer Research Program

Background Knowledge

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries