LibGuides: CVM Summer Research Program: Laboratory Protocols

Laboratory Protocols

The resources on this page include protocols published in handbooks and peer-reviewed journals, and a variety of video resources. They are good for learning step-by-step instructions or comparing protocols.

Handbooks and Book Series

Wiley Current Protocols Online This link opens in a new window
Current Protocols has been the leading source of laboratory protocols for over 25 years and now comprises more than 15,000 techniques and procedures across 17 titles.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, written by experts in the field, and are reviewed by editors distinguished in their specific subject areas.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Online protocols developed by the prestigious Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory including those from classic texts like Molecular Cloning: a Laboratory Manual (Maniatis) and other Cold Spring Harbor Press laboratory manuals. Also is a journal of new peer-reviewed protocols.
Methods in Enzymology
This highly respected book series standard for methods in the laboratory is now available electronically.
Methods in Cell Biology
Thematic, individual books on different topics, edited by leaders in the field, with state-of-art techniques and relevant historical background and theory.

Methods and Protocols Journals

Nature Protocols
An online peer-reviewed journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers in the biological sciences.
Nature Methods
A forum for publication of novel methods and significant improvements to tried-and-tested basic research techniques in the life sciences.
Methods
This journal focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the experimental biological and medical sciences. Topical issues are organized by guest editors.

Videos

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window
JoVE is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal publishing experimental techniques in biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, behavioral sciences, and medicine.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
JoVE Science Education is a library of simple video demonstrations teaching scientific fundamentals in biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, environmental sciences, psychology, and clinical skills.

There are a number of laboratory procedure and skills videos available in JoVE Science Education. These include general laboratory knowledge as well as subject specific information.

General Laboratory Techniques
This collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments.
Lab Safety
This collection provides safety guidelines to be followed when working with hazardous materials and equipment. It covers universal topics such as PPE, electrical safety, and general emergency guidelines, as well as some specific safety procedures for chemistry and biology laboratories.
Lab Animal Research
This collection is a comprehensive video guide for appropriate lab animal care and use. Since a majority of biomedical research is focused on studies involving rodents, it is critical that every scientist learns the essential procedures demonstrated in these videos.
Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
This collection demonstrates how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
Core: Biology
Over 300 animated video lessons explaining key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos showing actual research experiments conducted in laboratories. Includes topics such as cellular processes, genetics, and more.
Lab Manual: Biology
Interactive, multimedia laboratory manual for introductory biology lab courses. Includes comprehensive videos on 32 major concepts in biology, along with instructor prep materials and student protocols.
Basic Biology
This collection includes videos demonstrating techniques for working with model organisms such as yeast, Drosophila, C. elegans, mouse, zebrafish, and chick.
Advanced Biology
Topics in this collection include neuroscience, developmental biology, genetics, cell biology, immunology, and microbiology.
Biochemistry
This collection presents commonly used purification methods, such as affinity chromatography, as well as analytical methods, like MALDI-TOF. In addition, the videos showcase methods for assessing biomolecule interaction and function, such as co-immunoprecipitation and metabolic labeling.
Bioengineering
This collection covers core bioengineering concepts, which include production of biomaterials, histotypic and whole organ tissue cultures, bioprocessing techniques, and the complex system-level fields of bioMEMs and biosensing.
Biomedical Engineering
This collection describes the central concepts in biomedical engineering with a focus on imaging techniques to visualize and detect medical conditions, methods to quantify biomechanical strain, and computational modeling to simulate blood flow.
Environmental Microbiology
This collection provides an introduction to microbial communities in the environment and their roles in ecosystems; and also explores common methods used to study environmental microbiology.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

CVM Summer Research Program

Laboratory Protocols

Handbooks and Book Series

Methods and Protocols Journals

Videos