Michigan State University

Alumni Resources

Michigan State alumni have access to the University's vast campus print collections, as well as on-campus use of the Libraries' databases.

Get Books

Search the Libraries' catalog

Alumni with a Michigan community borrower's card can borrow up to 25 items, for three weeks at a time. 

MSU Main Library viewed from the Red Cedar River.

Photo courtesy of University Communications

No longer in East Lansing? 

Try your local public library, the consortia of libraries it belongs to (like MeL), or the library of a college or university in your area, many of whom check out materials to community patrons. If your local library does not have the book but you know MSU Libraries does, ask them to submit an Interlibrary Loan request. We lend MSU materials to libraries across the world. 

Get Electronic Resources - Open Access

Looking for databases, journals and eBooks you can access from home? Perform a search on the Libraries' home page (select Articles beneath the main search bar), and limit your search by "Open Access," or, limit your results by "Open Access" using the left limiter pane.

Or, go directly to these open access resources:

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Directory of Open Access Books

Get Electronic Resources - Via Your Public Library Card

Public libraries have free databases, eBooks, and lots of other resources for cardholders. In order to offer their patrons expanded electronic and print resources, they often join consortiums to share materials. Check out the website of your public library or ask your librarian what resources they have and to what consortium they belong. 

MeL

In Michigan, many public and academic libraries belong to MeL (Michigan eLibrary). Patrons can borrow materials from a shared consortial catalog, MeLCat. In addition, MeL recognizes you via your local library account, and grants you access to a number of electronic databases, some of which you may remember using at MSU Libraries. Some examples are Academic Source Complete, ERIC, Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints, and many more.

Get Electronic Resources - In Person Access at MSU Main Library

If you wish to use the Libraries' resources to access articles that are not free, you can do that in person! 

To access the Libraries' Databases, Journals, and Articles, use the "Selected Resources" computers across from the Reference Desk on the first floor of the main library. 

Row of desktop computers

 

Ask Us!

Michigan State University