JRN 325: History of Journalism

Explore extensive collections sourced from The National WWII Museum, New Orleans, to uncover the many facets of American involvement in the Second World War. From civilian experiences on the Home Front and military training in America to the Pacific campaigns, intervention in China, Burma and India, the D-Day landings in Europe and the post-war occupation of Germany, follow the stories of over 750 men and women through their letters, diaries, photographs, artefacts, and military records.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, in selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.

This project makes English-language oral histories easily accessible for the first time, giving voice to typically unheard people from all walks of life from around the world. The database provides detailed indexing of oral history collections, repositories, and narratives, along with links to full text, audio, and video where available. Includes Ellis Island Oral History Project, Civil Rights Documentation Project, Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive: Oral Histories.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials—150,000 pages total upon completion. The collection is further enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring richly annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by leading historians.