Many of the references will have DOIs as part of their information-if you're logged in with your MSU NetID and password, clicking on those DOIs should take you to the article, as well as present you with an option to download the full text. You can then upload the full text into the reference for reviewers to access.
There are ways to expedite this process.
You can export from the Full Text review to a citation management software like EndNote or Zotero, and have use their Find Full Text function to locate and attach full text to the citation. (As of April 1, 2023, this feature is not working well in EndNote. We are working to identify a solution).
With the LibKey Nomad browser extension installed, you can easily see what full text are available from the MSU Library, and are able to access them in one click. To install the LibKey Nomad extension, please see instructions below or navigate to the LibKey Nomad Guide.
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for most major browsers, including Google Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article so there is no need to search multiple places. When the full text is not available you will be provided with options to request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.
Note: If you are using Google Chrome with your msu.edu account, you will need to log out before installing the LibKey Nomad extension. MSU's organizational access does not include the Google extensions store. After installation, you can log back in to Chrome with your msu.edu account and LibKey Nomad should work.
When browsing publisher and other web pages, LibKey Nomad provides a link to download the PDF of an article available through the MSU Libraries. It is not necessary to first connect through the MSU Libraries website. If the full text is not available through the MSU Libraries subscriptions, a button for "Access Options" will appear and you will be connected to options for requesting the article through ILL.
LibKey Nomad also works with Wikipedia. When viewing the list of references for an entry, a "Download PDF" button will appear after the citations that full text is available for through the MSU Libraries. An "Article Link" button may appear for citations that are from sources that do not support linking directly to the PDF. For articles not available from the MSU Libraries, an "Access Options..." button will appear that provides options for requesting the articles through ILL.
When searching PubMed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading a PDF, linking to an article, or additional access options, and you can view the cover images of the journals that articles appear in. LibKey Nomad also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication.
