It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides thorough, reliable indexing for journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews and university publications from the U.S., Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Puerto Rico. Covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
Use this database to research: Case Studies, Government Regulations, Practice of Law, Statutes, Taxation and International Law. Access all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
This book examines the changing landscape of food governance. Within this landscape, both public and private regulators increasingly encounter one another as markets have become more globalized. While these encounters may often be planned, long-term and lead to positive relationships and outcomes, they can also be accidental collisions that result in antagonistic relationships and crisis. Empirically, this book investigates these public and private encounters in food governance and the institutional challenges they raise. Importantly, it also explores the public policy responses to these issues at the national, supranational and transnational levels, and investigates new forms of private food regulation. Against this empirical backdrop, the contributors provide insights into broader analytical issues that have animated regulatory governance scholarship such as the legitimacy and effectiveness of public and private regulation, the distribution of power in regulatory arrangements, the interaction of layers and networks of regulation and regulatory responses to crisis.This comprehensive book will be of great value to those interested in gaining an interdisciplinary understanding of the empirical area of food governance and the analytical issues of regulatory governance.
A very high portion of the seafood we eat comes from abroad, mainly from China and Southeast Asia, and most of the active ingredients in medicines we take originate in other countries. Many low- and middle-income countries have lower labor costs and fewer and less stringent environmental regulations than the United States, making them attractive places to produce food and chemical ingredients for export. Safe Foods and Medical Products Through Stronger Regulatory Systems Abroad explains that the diversity and scale of imports makes it impractical for U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) border inspections to be sufficient to ensure product purity and safety, and incidents such as American deaths due to adulterated heparin imported from China propelled the problem into public awareness. The Institute of Medicine Committee on Strengthening Core Elements of Regulatory Systems in Developing Countries took up the vital task of helping the FDA to cope with the reality that so much of the food, drugs, biologics, and medical products consumed in the United States originate in countries with less-robust regulatory systems. Ensuring Safe Foods and Medical Products Through Stronger Regulatory Systems Abroad describes the ways the United States can help strengthen regulatory systems in low and middle income countries and promote cross-border partnerships - including government, industry, and academia - to foster regulatory science and build a core of regulatory professionals. This report also emphasizes an array of practical approaches to ensure sound regulatory practices in today's interconnected world.
Chapter 21 addresses international food law.
Featuring case studies and discussion questions, this textbook - with revisions addressing significant changes to US food law - offers accessible coverage appropriate to a wide audience of students and professionals. Overviews the federal statutes, regulations, and regulatory agencies concerned with food regulation and introduces students to the case law and statutory scheme of food regulation Focuses updated content on the 2011 FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA), the biggest change to US food law since the 1930s Contains over 20% new material, particularly a rewritten import law chapter and revisions related to food safety regulation, health claims, and food defense Features case studies and discussion questions about application of law, policy questions, and emerging issues
Food is produced not only to be consumed in the country of its origin, but also to be exported to various locations worldwide. As such, manufacturers and suppliers need to know the market conditions and regulations of their customers in export markets. Filling a distinct need in the globalized food economy, this introductory reference distils the key facts and regulations from the food laws of 10 countries and the European Union across four continents. The result is a truly global survey of the world's most important food markets in terms of regulatory standards, principles and the authorities involved. To enable comparison between each country portrait, each chapter is structured in the same way, and includes information on the legal framework, the competent authorities, explanations of the basic principles of food law, introductions to the main areas of regulation (particularly, labeling and advertising; food hygiene and safety; additives and flavorings; food supplements; genetically modified organisms; import and export regulations), accountability regulations, and information on Internet resources. The publication therefore provides key facts for food producers active on the international market, who often lack the time and resources to refer to the primary laws and legal commentaries. Markets discussed: Argentina Brazil Canada China European Union Japan USA Republic of Korea Russian Federation Switzerland Turkey
Food contact materials such as packaging, storage containers and processing surfaces can pose a substantial hazard to both food manufacturer and consumer due to the migration of chemicals or other substances from the material to the food, which can cause tainting of flavours and other sensory characteristics, or even illness. This book reviews the main materials used for food contact in terms of the global legislation in place to ensure their safe and effective use. Part One provides an overview of food contact legislation issues such as chemical migration and compliance testing. Part Two looks in detail at the legislation for specific food contact materials and their advantages, hazards and use in industry. Includes global coverage of food contact legislation Features expert analysis of future trends in global food packaging regulation Focus on specific materials such as plastic, paper and rubber materials in contact with food
Providing a truly global overview of legislation in all major countries, this practical volume contains the information vital for manufactures of food contact materials and food producers, facilitating a comparison of the requirements and making mutual requirements easier to identify. It covers not only plastics but also other food contact materials, such as paper, board, coatings, ceramics, cork, rubber, and textiles.
Food Safety is an increasingly important issue. Numerous food crises have occurred internationally in recent years (the use of the dye Sudan Red I; the presence of acrylamide in various fried and baked foods; mislabelled or unlabelled genetically modified foods; and the outbreak of variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease) originating in both primary agricultural production and in the food manufacturing industries. Public concern at these and other events has led government agencies to implement a variety of legislative actions covering many aspects of the food chain. This book presents and compares the HACCP and ISO 22000:2005 food safety management systems. These systems were introduced to improve and build upon existing systems in an attempt to address the kinds of failures which can lead to food crises. Numerous practical examples illustrating the application of ISO 22000 to the manufacture of food products of animal origin are presented in this extensively-referenced volume. After an opening chapter which introduces ISO 22000 and compares it with the well-established HACCP food safety management system, a summary of international legislation relating to safety in foods of animal origin is presented. The main part of the book is divided into chapters which are devoted to the principle groups of animal-derived food products: dairy, meat, poultry, eggs and seafood. Chapters are also included on catering and likely future directions. The book is aimed at food industry managers and consultants; government officials responsible for food safety monitoring; researchers and advanced students interested in food safety.
Increasingly, consumers desire information about the health, safety, environmental and socioeconomic characteristics of food products. These traits often cannot be detected by sight, smell or taste. Therefore, consumers must use food labels to select products that meet their needs and preferences. The growing consumer and industry interest in food labels presents challenges for governments, which must ensure that the product information is accurate, truthful and not misleading to consumers. Governments must decide whether provision of information should be mandatory or voluntary. With the increase in global trade in food, there is a need to harmonize food labels so that product information is understood and relevant to foreign markets. Innovations in food labelling provides information about the principles and requirements of food labelling and reviews the latest trends in this important area. Following an introduction on the evolution of food labelling, further chapters cover the Codex Alimentarius and food labelling, international trade agreements, nutrition labelling, allergies and food labels and environmental and social labels, among other topics. An essential reference for food regulatory agencies, food law experts and professionals in the food industry responsible for labelling as well as consumer and environmental associations with an interest in labelling. Provides important information about the principles and requirements of food labelling and reviews the trends in this area Documents label evolution and considers standards and legal issues, as well as protection of the environment and sustainable food production Features labels for a variety of different markets, including organic foods, and addresses social issues such as association of food quality with location
The subject of global food safety law and regulation is new, evolving, and still not definitive. On one side, it concerns a particular specific sector that, despite being connected to several issues and social interests, still presents its own specific and original features, as a sectorial system of governance. It not only concerns consumers' health protection and foodborne diseases, but also the economic interests behind food and agricultural production, such as the free trade of goods. At the same time, rules concerning food safety are characterized by certain peculiarities: the dialectic between producers' and consumers' interests, the scientific grounds, and the implication of cultural and traditional insights. This makes food safety a crucial issue in administrative regulation, as it shows how interests balance works, the weight of technical and scientific evaluations in public decisions, the level of impartiality and efficiency granted to the citizens, and the quality of democratic mechanisms ensured in the decision-making. Finally, as food is - as widely known - a key issue in the development and the well-being of every society, the quality of its regulation is always strategic and functional to the welfare of the people. That is why the issue of jurisdiction and competence or of interest balancing are, in such field, always complex, delicate, and open to conflict. On the other side, global food safety law and regulation is new because it does not regard only a single, closed, and united legal order. It is not simply national or European, and it is not even merely international. It is something more. Due to the phenomenon of globalization and to the interconnectedness of economies and societies - particularly evident in the food sector for the spread of world food trade - also the law becomes global. It assumes thus a transnational impact and a universal validity or efficacy. Global law is something different than international law. It coexists with it, but it does not occur merely among States: it is above the States and through them. Notably, it has a particular reflection for national public authorities regulating socio-economic sectors in accordance to common principles and rules coming from a new global legal space. The approach of this book is problematic and interdisciplinary. There are not mere descriptions or definitions. While much focus is given to cases, disputes, controversial issues, there is no strict separation among sciences and disciplines, while there are many connections, to open the mind to different solutions and to understand that a phenomenon can be regulated and viewed according to several views and disciplines, all formally legitimate but with different results, and framed according to a scientific, political or legal approach, which sometimes need to be combined together. At the end of the book, the reader will have useful tools with which to approach the problems and the key issues of food-safety law and regulation: he/she will know more about the functioning of this "system" and of its actors, and will also gain some key elements for understanding and analyzing the globalization of law and of public regulation. The book offers: an introduction and descriptive definition of the subject * an illustration of the main problems and characters through the analysis of three specific legal cases * a general and articulated analysis of the legal framework of food safety law and regulation, comprising the general principles, the positive prescriptions, the institutional actors, and the informal bodies composing such legal architecture * a focus on the main body of global food safety law - the Codex Alimentarius Commission - and an examination of the main subject of this socio-economic field of regulation.
This fully revised and updated edition begins with insights into the scope, importance and continuing growth opportunities in the nutraceutical and functional food industries and explores the latest regulatory changes and their impacts. The book demonstrates the global scenario of the acceptance and demand for these products and explores the regulatory hurdles and claim substantiation of these foods and dietary supplements, as well as addressing the intricate aspects of manufacturing procedures. As the public gains confidence in the quality of these products based on sophisticated quality control, a broad spectrum of safety studies and GRAS, peer-reviewed publications and cutting-edge human clinical studies have emerged. An increasing number of additional populations around-the-world now recognize the efficacy and functions of nutraceuticals and functional foods as established by those scientific research studies. As a result, a number of structurally and functionally active novel nutraceuticals and several new functional beverages have been introduced into the marketplace around the world. Features fully revised and updated information with current regulations from around the world, including GRAS status and DSHEA regulators Offers 45% new content including three new chapters -NSF: Ensuring the Public Health and Safety Aspects of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods; Role of the United States Pharmacoepia in the Establishment of Nutraceuticals and Functional Food Safety; An Overview on the New Dietary Ingredient (NDI) and Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) Status, and the addition of cGMP regulations for dietary supplements Includes insight into working with regulatory agencies, processes and procedures Provides a link to the contact information for most regulatory bodies for readers wishing to gain further knowledge
Regulatory Foundations for the Food Protection Professional is a comprehensive guide for the entry-level food protection professional (FPP) working in either the public or private sector. The book can also serve as a foundation for students in academic programs preparing for a career in food protection.
Revised to reflect the most recent developments in food safety, the second edition of Food Safety for the 21st Century offers practitioners an authoritative text that contains the essentials of food safety management in the global supply chain. The authors -- noted experts in the field -- reveal how to design, implement and maintain a stellar food safety programme. The book contains industry best-practices that can help businesses to improve their systems and accelerate the application of world-class food safety systems. The authors outline the key food safety considerations for individuals, businesses and organisations involved in today's complex global food supply chains. The text contains the information needed to recognise food safety hazards, design safe products and processes and identify and manage effectively the necessary control mechanisms within the food business. The authors also include a detailed discussion of current issues and key challenges in the global food supply chain. This important guide: * Offers a thorough review of the various aspects of food safety and considers how to put in place an excellent food safety system * Contains the information on HACCP appropriate for all practitioners in the world-wide food supply chain * Assists new and existing business to meet their food safety goals and responsibilities * Includes illustrative examples of current thinking and challenges to food safety management and recommendations for making improvements to systems and practices Written for food safety managers, researchers and regulators worldwide, this revised guide offers a comprehensive text and an excellent reference for developing, implementing and maintaining world-class food safety programmes and shows how to protect and defend the food supply chain from threats.