Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To locate books, search the MSU Libraries' online catalog.
When looking for a book, pay particular attention to the book's
location as stated in the online record. It could be located in the MSU
Main Library's general stacks, in the Fine Arts collection, in the Turfgrass collection, or somewhere else.
If you have any trouble at all, be sure to Ask a Librarian!
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Book Loan from Michigan Libraries
MelCat is a Union catalog of books owned by 300+ libraries in Michigan. Available items are easy to request using your MSU ID by clicking on the "Get This For Me!" Link. This service is paid by Michigan libraries, there is no additional cost to you.
Use the database WorldCat to discover items owned by libraries worldwide. When you discover something you like, click on the "Request this item in ILLiad" link located within each worldcat record. First Time Users must set up an ILLiad Profile. Requests will not work for MSU Library items available for check out. This service is paid by MSU Libraries, there is no additional cost to you.
Useful Reference Books
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Containing over 5,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of architecture available. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of leading architects, from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers. The text is complimented by over 250 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles.
Introductory Landscape Architecture by
Publication Date: 1985-12-01
Written by a professor/practitioner of landscape architecture, this classic text provides an introduction to the theories, techniques, methods, and history of ecological planning, site planning, and landscape design. Offers a broad perspective on ecological analysis, conservation, landscape planning and environmental impact, site planning and landscape design, human and natural factors, microclimate, planting design, landscape engineering, and a short history of parks, gardens, housing and conservation movements. For students in introductory courses in landscape architecture, architecture, city and regional planning, or landscape horticulture, and for professionals involved in related disciplines.
Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture by
Publication Date: 1997-11-22
Newly designed and containing a full 40 percent completely new content, Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture, Second Edition, continues to be the most complete source of site design and construction standards and data. It is fully metric, to meet Federal and International requirements. It features increased coverage of: Site storm water "best management" practices · New urban tree planting and xeriscape concepts · Earth retaining structures and pavement design · Land reclamation, including soil and vegetation restoration · Metric site layout practices, including recreation facilities · Energy and resource conservation · Natural processes and site construction procedures · New expanded construction details · Simplified construction materials data. Over 50 sections provide concise tables, checklists, "Key Point" text summaries, and illustrations to provide an invaluable information resource for offices and classrooms throughout the world.
Guide for Plant Appraisal
Authored by the Council of Tree and Landscape Appraisers, this work is the professional plant appraiser’s how-to manual for determining size, species, condition, and location factors that influence the value of plants.
The Interactive Manual and Photo-Library of Woody Landscape Plants by
Publication Date: 2004-01-15
Incorporating the content of 5 CDs with a retail value of $230, The Interactive Manual and Photo-Library of Woody Landscape Plants, DVD Version offers the convenience of one DVD-ROM and a new low price. Based on Michael A. Dirr's classic work, The Manual of Woody Landscape Plants, this new DVD-ROM covers 1670 species and 7800 cultivars, with 7600 high-quality plant images. The plant database is searchable by 72 criteria, including hardiness zones, water and light requirements, growth characteristics, flowers, fruits, and fall colors. The DVD offers the latest and most reliable information on woody landscape plants for the landscape professional and the home gardener alike. Runs on Windows 98, XP, and Vista (with Service Pack 1, which can be found online, http://support.microsoft.com/kb/935791). For optimal quality, change computer resolution to 800 X 600.
Plants for Michigan roadsides by
Call Number: MSU Closed Reference - TE178 .M5
This is a marvelous and rare work of many species of trees and shroubs used for roadside plantings. very descriptive tables address charachteristics for each species. Book is oversized and in closed reference. Excellent for Landscape Architecture and land use planning and rehabilitation.