LibGuides: Landscape Architecture Research Guide: Major Online Resources

Major Sites

ASGCA Architect's Gallery
This source includes digitized video interviews, sample architectural plans, golf course listings, and architect-specific biographies and bibliographies for selected members of the American Society of Golf Course Architects.
History of Landscape Architecture
History of Landscape Architecture is a bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley library and Internet resources for the history of landscape architecture. It includes selected reference titles and historical surveys of landscape architecture history, as well as strategies for locating periodical articles, books, images, etc.
Landscape Architecture Image Resource (LAIR)
The LAIR Website has been designed to foster active, collaborative learning and encourage community building across a variety of campuses serving landscape architecture education. This shared image bank is a library of digital images that have been collected from a variety of sources. These images are available to anyone who would like to use them for educational purposes.

Urban Forestry Resources

Center for Urban Forest Research - CUFR is one of 13 research work units affiliated with the Pacific Southwest Research Station, a USDA Forest Service Organization. "Since 1992 we have provided our customers with reliable scientific evidence that the benefits of urban forests add real value to communities. Our research confirms that trees in our community forests are assets that pay us back."

Urban & Community Forestry - The Urban and Community Forestry Program provides technical, financial, educational, and research services to states, cities, and nonprofit groups so they can plant, protect, maintain, and utilize wood from community trees and forests to maximize environmental, social and economic benefits.

i-Tree - i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban and community forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. It s in the public domain and available by request through the i-Tree website.
The i-Tree software suite 2.0 includes the following urban forest analysis tools:

UFORE (Urban Forest Effects Model) is designed to use standardized field data from randomly located plots throughout a community, along with local hourly air pollution and meteorological data, to quantify urban forest structure, environmental effects and value to communities.
STRATUM (Street Tree Resource Analysis Tool for Urban forest Managers) utilizes a sample or complete tree inventory to describe tree management needs and quantify the value of annual environmental and aesthetic benefits such as energy conservation, air quality improvement, CO2 reduction, storm water control, and property value increases.
In addition to the analysis programs, the suite includes several management applications & utilities: MCTI (Mobile Community Tree Inventory), Storm Damage Assessment Protocol, Species Selector (Beta), Integrated Tree Inventory Utilities, and Sample Inventory Generators.

Trees and Transportation / Human Dimensions of Urban Forestry and Urban Greening, University of Washington
"Transportation systems have traditionally been designed for traffic mobility and driver safety. Road systems and roadsides are now being designed to address a variety of other functions, including aesthetic, environmental, and community interests. Context Sensitive Design is a new approach in transportation planning that recognizes community values. Roadside vegetation and green spaces are often valued features of transportation corridors. The studies below are investigations of public values regarding trees and vegetation in urban vehicular use areas."