LibGuides: U.S. Census Statistics: Decennial Census & American Community Survey

Handbooks for ACS Data Users

A series of handbooks for different audiences providing guidance in understanding and using the American Community Survey.

The ACS: Practical considerations for researchers
Article addresses: Choosing among census datasets from different census programs, interpreting and choosing between the different ACS period estimates, selecting census geography, understanding and recalculating margins of error, and accessing data.
Comparing ACS Data
Guidance from the Census Bureau on comparing ACS data with other sources. Includes crosswalks to Census 2000.
ACS Statistical Testing Tool
Comparing American Community Survey (ACS) estimates involves more than determining which statistic is higher or lower. Users should also conduct statistical testing to make sure differences are statistically significant and are unlikely to have occurred by chance. This testing takes into account the margin of error (MOE) associated with survey estimates, which are based on responses from a sample of the full population.

Decennial Census (also known as the Census of Population and Housing)

Conducted every 10 years beginning in 1790.
From the 20th century it provides demographic and socio-economic statistics for population areas down to the block and neighborhood level.

American Community Survey (ACS)

Replaces the long form (sample questionnaire) of the decennial census from 2010.
Collects statistics on detailed demographic and socio-economic characteristics.
Statistics are available for some geographic areas from the ACS beginning in 2001.

Data.Census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Census of Population and Housing (US Census Bureau)
PDF versions of the printed volumes. The online collection is not complete. Use the MSU Libraries' print collections in the Main Library Census Alcove for missing online volumes.
1790-2000

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports from selected census statistics. 1790 to 1930: County, state and national data. 1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data. 2006- : ACS. Also includes religion data, U.S. Election data, UK Census 2011 data, and Ireland Religion data. Generate thematic maps for census tracts.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Statistics from the 2000 census as well as many other sources. Only source of detailed projections.

United States Historical Census Data Browser
Contains data that describe the people and economy of the US for each state and county from 1790-1960.
Note: Statistics for many more geographic areas are available in the printed or online volumes on the Census Bureau website.
Print Census Reports (1790-1990)
Available in the Census Alcove, Main Library 1 East. From 2000, the most comprehensive data is only available online.