LibGuides: Geography Research Guide: Welcome

Reference Works

Geography: A very short introduction
A concise introduction to the study of geography, from Oxford University Press
Oxford Bibliographies - Geography
The Oxford Bibliographies provide a survey of a discipline and lead you to the top resources in the field such as reference works, journals, and the key topics. The Geography section has entries on each sub-discipline.
SAGE Research Methods Online
Explore the research methods terrain, find all you need to know to plan a research project, explore appropriate statistical test methods using the tool 'Which Stats Test'
Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction
A concise introduction to the study of climate change, from Oxford University Press. 4th edition, 2021

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Nigel Thrift (Editor-In-Chief); Rob Kitchin (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0080449115
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography provides over 1,000 detailed entries on philosophy and theory, key concepts, methods and practices, biographies of notable geographers, and geographical thought and praxis in different parts of the world.

Encyclopedia of Soil Science, Third edition
A ready reference addressing a multitude of soil and soil management concerns. The 3rd edition was published in 2016

Michigan Geography

Michigan Geography and Geology (2009). (click here for a keyword index)
Michigan Roadside Naturalist (2003).
Geography of Michigan and the Great Lakes Basin (1993).
Michigan, a geography (1984).
Southern Great Lakes: Field guide (1977).
Michigan's thirty-seven million acres of diamonds (1927).
Physical, Industrial and Sectional Geography of Michigan (1914).
Dodge's Geography of Michigan (1910).

Finding Biographies

For Geo 480

Search catalog for biographies of geographers
This catalog search will retrieve records for books that are about a geographer plus any anthologies in which each chapter is about a different geographer.
Historical New York Times 1851-2009
Search and find articles from historical New York Times. The NYT frequently runs obituaries for famous people.
more...less...
Excellent source for exhibition reviews and interviews with artists. Full-text.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

GIS-Related Subscription Resources

This list contains resources that provide mapping, GIS, or georeferenced data. These resources are available to current MSU students faculty and staff.

SimplyMap
SimplyMap provides detailed US data including thousands of population, demographic, business, and marketing data variables from data partners like US Census, consumer expenditure, real estate, crime and many more. See also a guide to using Simplymap at
Guide to Using Simplymap
LandScan Population
Landscan is a world population dataset at approximately 1 km resolution (30" X 30"). It represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours) disaggragating census counts using dasymetric modeling.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.

Includes plumbing and kitchen data from 2011-2015 US Census Annual Community Survey.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports from selected census statistics. 1790 to 1930: County, state and national data. 1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data. 2006- : ACS. Also includes religion data, U.S. Election data, UK Census 2011 data, and Ireland Religion data. Generate thematic maps for census tracts.

Related Library Guides

Environmental Studies Library Guide
Eric Tans is our Environmental Studies Librarian
Research Guide for the Geological Sciences
MSU Libraries - List of Subject Specialists
From African Studies to Zoology, find a subject librarian at MSU Libraries.
GIS Services and GIS Data
MSU Map Library: Links to Useful Sites
MSU Map Library guide to major online map resources
Finding Census Tract Data
U.S. Census Statistics - Population, Manufacturing, Agriculture
The MSU Libraries US Documents Librarian Julia Ezzo provides this guide to finding detailed census statistics.
Finding Local Government Planning Reports at MSU Libraries

Main Library Printing & Copying

Once you have located an item of interest on the computer, you have several choices:

Scan the material and save to a USB drive. The Map Library (on 2nd floor East Wing) has a 42" roll-type scanner and also a 11 x 17" (A3) flatbed scanner. Most other scanners are in Hollander MakeCentral on 2nd floor West Wing.
Photocopy the material -- coin and bill-operated machines are sprinkled around both wings of the main library on nearly every floor. The main point in the library for making photocopies is Hollander MakeCentral on 2-west.

Plotting at MSU Libraries
A guide to using the plotters at Hollander MakeCentral.
Printing using MSUPrint
MSU Print
Main Library Copy Center
Located on 2nd floor, West wing

Subject Guide

Kathleen Weessies

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

Geosciences Librarian; Social Sciences Coordinator; Head, Map Library
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive E240

517-884-0849

Subjects: Geography, Geology, Journalism, Psychology

Geography Research Guide: Welcome

Semester Notice

Changes in Fall 2022 Services

Reference Works

Michigan Geography

Finding Biographies

GIS-Related Subscription Resources

Related Library Guides

Main Library Printing & Copying

Subject Guide

MSU Main Library

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Geography Research Guide: Welcome

Semester Notice

Changes in Fall 2022 Services

Reference Works

Michigan Geography

Finding Biographies

GIS-Related Subscription Resources

Related Library Guides

Main Library Printing & Copying

Subject Guide

MSU Main Library