Collection Development Policy Statement: Main Library Reference et. al.

Locations and sub-locations in Main Library Reference

• Most of the Reference collection is in General Reference (ss), unless there is good reason to put them in another sub-location. Exceptions: there are no M and N call numbers (they are in Music/Fine Arts), and almost no DT call numbers (in Africana Reference on 2-East). Oversized volumes are accommodated by adjusting shelves, or in a few cases, using atlas cases. 
  These books circulate only with special permission.
• Closed Reference (ssqrf) consists of books kept in lockable cases behind the desk for staff use or to prevent theft. These books are for in library checkout (2 hrs) only.
• Consulting Reference (cr) is being phased out: It has provided overflow space for works that are older, seldom-used or similar to other publications. In coming years, these books will likely be relocated to another location either in the Main Library, Remote Storage, or weeded out entirely.

The MSU Collection resides on the main floor near the 1 East Reference Desk for easy access by patrons and librarians alike. The MSU Collection is available for circulation and inter-library loan. Items can be purchased by any fund for inclusion in this collection.

Travel Guides consists of guides to destinations, means of travel and attractions; it is a circulating collection with a shorter checkout period so they may circulate to a greater number of patrons and not taken on excursions. They are purchased on Reference funds and are shelved together in the greater reference area. Older editions and outdated works are transferred to either Main stacks or Remote Storage.

Reference activity takes place in many other parts of the Libraries. Reference cooperates with these units in terms of services, but those areas almost always are responsible for their own collections (if any). These other units include Circulation, Discovery Services, Area Studies, Turfgrass, Maps, Fine Arts, Music, Murray and Hong Special Collections, and the external branch libraries.