Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics & Data: General
Data & Statistics Research Guides
Includes guides to how to find data and statistics in general, and subject-specific data guides for agricultural, environmental data and statistics.
Single entry point to all United Nations statistical databases.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications and datasets from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Publications are available in MSU Libraries.
STATSnetBASE This link opens in a new window
From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data. To search STATSnetBASE titles, choose “Advanced Search” upon connecting to CRCnetBASE and limit your search to the “Statistics” Subject collection.
Additional Guides on Data & Statistics
Agriculture and Agricultural Economics: Core Resources
This is a selected list of core sources. For more data and statistical sources, see the Data and Statistics Research Guides.
FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery.
USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)
Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data.
Economic Research Service
Research on the economics of food, farming, natural resources, and rural America.
Foreign Agriculture Service (USDA)
International agricultural market, production and trade data and reports. See also the Global Agricultural Trade System.
GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest and textile products trade statistics dating from the inception of the Harmonized coding system in 1989 to present.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to United States agriculture. Includes the Census of Agriculture.
Ag Data Commons, USDA
Ag Data Commons (ADC) provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research. It is a centralized registry for data already on the web, as well as a repository for new data being published for the first time. Ag Data Commons hosts datasets, databases, software, and multimedia, as well as the documentation explaining these data products...
Development & The Economy
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.
A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002
International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
Data covering more than 200 countries and country groupings. Topics include: balance of payments, interest rates, national accounts, prices, production, trade, and population. Updated monthly.
OECD iLibrary Statistics This link opens in a new window
OECD Statistical Data cover the broad range of OECD activities including finance, sustainable development, social issues, food and agriculture, education, employment, information technology, nuclear energy, transport, and much more.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search this site for holdings. Data downloads are free of charge by registering with an MSU email address.
EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides news, industry information, and company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.