Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Thesis/Dissertation Research
The Library catalog contains MSU theses and dissertations as well as some select theses and dissertations from other institutions. Formats include print, microform and links to electronic full text (1997-). Please note that there may be a slight processing delay for current items.
- MSU Libraries Catalog
Change the 'Any Field' drop-down box to author, title, or subject . You can also search by specific department or college; i.e., forestry or plant pathology. From the Collection drop-down list, select "Theses and Dissertations," and from the Search and Sort drop-down list, select "Sorted by date" so the most recent items will be at the top.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions - This ProQuest site provides access to dissertations and theses from MSU and other CIC institutions. Full text is available from 1997 onward; citations and abstracts are available for earlier documents.
- For more assistance locating Theses & Dissertations, see the Library Research Guide Finding Dissertations and Theses
Ordering from Interlibrary Loan
If you are an MSU affiliate and cannot locate the full text of a thesis or dissertation either in electronic or print format, proceed to this link
to order it for free from our interlibrary loan department. First time
users will need to click on the link on the left of the page, 'First Time ILLiad Users,' to set up an account.
AFRE Dissertations and Theses
Reviewing the literature reviews and research
methodology sections of dissertations and theses can be useful when starting a research project, as well as when conducting a comprehensive literature review.
Search Open Access Digital Repositories/ETDs
If you are searching for online theses or dissertations from another institution, you can browse the following open access collections, which can be accessed freely on the Internet.
Theses Canada Portal
Over 50,000 ETD's are available from the Library and Archives Canada's collection. For full-text, select "Electronic Theses" on the search screen.
British Library EThOS
Individuals may login and search this database of over 250,000 British theses and dissertations, without a fee. Some theses may be available on an open access basis. For others, individuals may need to request the item through ILLiad or wait for digitization.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Over 130,000 full-text ETD's are available from 230 participating universities from 17 European countries.
Australasian Digital Thesis Program
Provides access to theses from Australian and New Zealand institutions. Up to 5,000 available for free download.