Cost-Benefit Analysis: Financial and Economic Appraisal Using Spreadsheets, 3rd ed by
Now in its third edition, Cost-Benefit Analysis has been updated, offering readers the perfect introduction to project, programme and policy appraisal using basic tools of financial and economic analysis. The key economic questions of any social cost-benefit analysis are: do the benefits of the project or policy exceed the costs, no matter how widely costs and benefits are spread, and irrespective of whether or not project impacts, such as environmental effects, are reflected in market prices? And which group or groups of individuals receive the benefits and which bear the costs? This book addresses these questions with an emphasis on putting the theory presented in the book into practice. This third edition has several attractive features: Readers are encouraged to develop their own skills by applying the tools and techniques of cost-benefit analysis to case studies and examples, including an analysis of a project which is developed throughout the book The book emphasizes the use of spreadsheets which are invaluable in providing a framework for the cost-benefit analysis A dedicated chapter provides guidance for writing up a report which summarizes the analysis which has been undertaken New pedagogical features, including Technical Notes and Examples, have been added as an aid to readers throughout the text An appendix provides fourteen additional case studies which can be developed in class or as assignment projects Additional material for instructors and students is provided through Support Material maintained by Routledge This updated edition is an ideal text for a course on cost-benefit analysis where the emphasis is on practical application of principles and equipping students to conduct appraisals. It is also a useful handbook for professionals looking for a logical framework in which to undertake their cost-benefit analysis work.
A Course in Environmental Economics: theory, policy, and practice by
This unique graduate textbook offers a compelling narrative of the growing field of environmental economics that integrates theory, policy, and empirical topics. Daniel J. Phaneuf and Till Requate present both traditional and emerging perspectives, incorporating cutting-edge research in a way that allows students to easily identify connections and common themes. Their comprehensive approach gives instructors the flexibility to cover a range of topics, including important issues - such as tax interaction, environmental liability rules, modern treatments of incomplete information, technology adoption and innovation, and international environmental problems - that are not discussed in other graduate-levels texts. Numerous data-based examples and end-of-chapter exercises show students how theoretical and applied research findings are complementary, and will enable them to develop skills and interests in all areas of the field. Additional data sets and exercises can be accessed online, providing ample opportunity for practice. For more information, visit the book's website at http://phaneuf-requate.com/.
Economics of Agricultural Development, 2nd ed. by
The globalization of goods, services and capital for agriculture is fundamental to the future of developing countries and has major implications for the fight against poverty and sustainability of the environment. In recent years, agriculture has once again returned to a position of centre stage as food price volatility has led countries to re-examine their development strategies. This new edition of the essential textbook in the field builds on the 2006 original and reflects the following developments: the increased impact of climate change issues affecting agricultural markets such as bio-fuels, the rise in farm prices and energy costs the move to higher valued agricultural products The booknbsp;contains a wealth of real world case studies and is now accompanied by a website that includes powerpoint lectures, a photo bank and a large set of discussion and exam questions. The accompanying website is available to view at http://ecagdev.agecon.vt.edu/
Economics of Agricultural Development: world food systems and resource use. 3rd ed. by 
Farm Management, 10th ed by
"Farms and ranches, like other small businesses, require sound management to survive and prosper. The continual development of new agricultural technologies means that farm and ranch managers must stay informed of the latest advances and decide whether to adopt them. Adopting a risky, unproven technology that fails to meet expectations can cause financial difficulties or even termination of the farm business. On the other hand, failing to adopt profitable new technologies will put the farm business at a competitive disadvantage that could also prove disastrous in the long run. Moreover, changing public policies regarding environmental protection, taxes, and risk control tools can make certain alternatives and strategies more or less profitable than they have been in the past. Finally, changes in consumer tastes, the demographic makeup of our population, and world agricultural trade policies affect the demand for agricultural products"--
How to Prove It: a structured approach, 3rd ed by
Proofs play a central role in advanced mathematics and theoretical computer science, yet many students struggle the first time they take a course in which proofs play a significant role. This bestselling text's third edition helps students transition from solving problems to proving theorems by teaching them the techniques needed to read and write proofs. Featuring over 150 new exercises and a new chapter on number theory, this new edition introduces students to the world of advanced mathematics through the mastery of proofs. The book begins with the basic concepts of logic and set theory to familiarize students with the language of mathematics and how it is interpreted. These concepts are used as the basis for an analysis of techniques that can be used to build up complex proofs step by step, using detailed 'scratch work' sections to expose the machinery of proofs about numbers, sets, relations, and functions. Assuming no background beyond standard high school mathematics, this book will be useful to anyone interested in logic and proofs: computer scientists, philosophers, linguists, and, of course, mathematicians.
Managerial Economics and Business Strategy, Revised edition ed by
Managerial Economics and Business Strategy has been revised to include updated examples and problems, but it retains all of the basic content that made previous editions a success. By teaching managers the practical utility of basic economic tools such as present value analysis, supply and demand, regression, indifference curves, isoquants, production, costs, and the basic models of perfect competition, monopoly, and monopolistic competition. This 10th edition retails the emphasis on real-world examples and modern topics along with unique coverage found nowhere else: oligopoly, penetration pricing, multistage and repeated games, foreclosure, contracting, vertical and horizontal integration, networks, bargaining, predatory pricing, principal agent problems, raising rival's costs, adverse selection, auctions, screening and signaling, search, limit pricing, and a host of other pricing strategies for firms enjoying market power. This balanced coverage of traditional and modern microeconomic tools makes it appropriate for a wide variety of managerial economics classrooms.
The Measurement of Environmental and Resource Values : Theory and Methods, 3rd ed by
The continuing premise for the book is that estimates of the economic values of environmental and natural resource services are essential for effective policy-making. As previous editions, the third edition, which includes two additional co-authors, presents a comprehensive treatment of the theory and methods involved in estimating environmental benefits. Researchers, policy-makers, and practitioners will welcome the work as an up-to-date reference on recent developments. Students will gain a better understanding of the contribution that economics as a discipline can make to decisions concerning pollution control and human health, recreation, environmental amenities, and other critical issues concerning the way we use and interact with environmental and natural resource systems. To reflect recent progress in both the theory and practice of non-market valuation, the third edition includes more details on empirical approaches to measurement, expanded discussion of the reasons for divergence between "willingness to pay" and "willingness to accept compensation," and increased coverage of econometric issues encountered in estimation. In keeping with its cutting edge orientation, it also includes more discussion of survey design, equilibrium sorting models, and the implications of behavioral economics for welfare measurements and benefit cost analysis.
Natural Resource Economics: Analysis, Theory, and Applications by 
Resource Economics, 2nd ed by