Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FAOSTAT - Data
Production statistics: Statistics on agricultural production are the most important building blocks for the formulation of development plans and policies. A total of 633 crop and livestock commodities, primary and processed, covering aspects of productive activity such as area harvested, animal numbers, output and yields are housed in the division’s statistical databases.
Trade Statistics: In collaboration with our sister agency, the United Nations Statistics Division, FAO gathers and publishes traded quantities, trade flows and trade values for 540 commodities for every country and region in the world. FAO’s trade data system constitutes the global benchmark for monitoring international product flows in agriculture.
Coverage: generally 1961-2014.
Data: Downloads to a CSV table.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.
World Bank - Africa Infrastructure: National Data
Provides national data statistics for African countries. Can limit to a country, parameters (internet connectivity, electricity, energy use, irrigation aspects, access to water, household spending, transportation, water and sanitation). Coverage mid-1990's to current.
World DataBank This link opens in a new window
Available from the World Bank, DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Includes World Development Indicators & Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Doing Business, and more.
African Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Africa Development Indicators was a primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. No further updates of this database are currently planned. See World Development Indicators for more recent data on Africa. Coverage is 1960 - 2012, downloadable to CSV and Excel files
African Statistical Yearbook
Covers population, employment, agricultural production and trade by industry and commodity, transportation, communications, finance and health facilities. Yearbooks are in pdf format. Available years: 2006-2007, 2010-2012, but data is often listed over an 8-9 year spread.
"The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more that a dozen African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Because the instrument asks a standard set of questions, countries can be systematically compared. Trends in public attitudes are tracked over time."
Data files are downloaded a .sav files and you will need SPSS to open them. The 'codebook' describes the questionnaire used.
Famine Early Warning Systems (FEWS) Network
The Famine Early Warning Systems (FEWS) Network is a leading provider of early warning and analysis on food insecurity. Created by USAID in 1985 to help decision-makers plan for humanitarian crises, FEWS NET provides evidence-based analysis on some 35 countries. Implementing team members include NASA, NOAA, USDA, and USGS, along with Chemonics International Inc. and Kimetrica.
Data & Monitoring tab: Data Shapefiles: Livelihood Zones; Food Insecurity Mapping
Agroclimat Monitoring - available from USGS and NOAA
USGS FEWS NET Data Portal
The USGS FEWS NET Data Portal provides access to geo-spatial data, satellite image products, and derived data products in support of FEWS NET drought monitoring efforts throughout the world. This portal is provided by the USGS FEWS NET Project, part of the Early Warning Focus Area at the USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center. Most data sets are from 2012-current but a few go as far back as 1982.
Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) - Data / Information Table
Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) surveys have been conducted in dozens of countries around the world. The LSMS website hosts many of these surveys - for others, we provide links to the websites of the relevant national statistics office. LSMS are conducted by World Bank.
Agreement for data use / no reuse must be agreed to before access is granted. Data is delivered in STATA (.dta) files.
USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
Contains references to over 95,000 pieces of USAID-funded documentation, including studies, evaluation, conference proceedings, and surveys, about topics such as democracy, population and health, economic growth, the environment, and humanitarian assistance. Reports are in pdf format. Search can be limited by subject, country and year published
Dataset: International Food Security
Provided by Ag Data Commons (USDA-NAL), this dataset measures food availability and access for 76 low- and middle-income countries. The dataset includes annual country-level data on area, yield, production, nonfood use, trade, and consumption for grains and root and tuber crops (combined as R&T in the documentation tables), food aid, total value of imports and exports, gross domestic product, and population compiled from a variety of sources.
Countries covered are listed on the site.
EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides news, industry information, and company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.
AgriKnowledge provides access to key information for agricultural development. 1782 resources are available through AgriKnowledge for searching and downloading. Geographic concentration is currently primarily Africa.
TEEAL is a digital collection of research journals for agriculture and related sciences. Researchers, students, faculty and librarians can discover and access thousands of full-text PDF articles without the use of the internet. TEEAL is available to institutions in income-eligible countries. MSU Libraries does NOT subscribe to TEEAL, however most of the journals and articles re accessible through our subscription databases.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
GenderStats: World Bank Database of Gender Statistics This link opens in a new window
"GenderStats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators designed with user-friendly, menu-driven features. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. The data in each module is presented in ready-to-use format. Users have the option of saving the country views in Excel (or another spreadsheet software) to customize them for their own reports."
Additional MSU Research Guides
Nigerian National Bureau of Statistics
National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) is the main National Agency responsible for the development and management of official statistics. The NBS E-Library provides full text (PDF) documents addressing many aspects of Nigerian Socio-Economics and National and Economies.
Nigeria Strategy Support Program (NSSP)
The Nigeria Strategy Support Program (NSSP) blog is a medium for circulating information relevant to Nigeria's agriculture policy and strategy development. The blog contains updates on the NSSP's work - ongoing research, upcoming events, publications, findings - as well as general information to support agricultural researchers and policymakers. This includes announcements of relevant conferences, training opportunities, research tools, data, networks, and calls for papers. The parent organization is IFPRE.
Nigeria - General Household Survey, Panel 2015-2016, Wave 3
GHS-Panel households were visited twice: first after the planting season (post-planting) between August and October and second after the harvest season (post-harvest) between February and April. All households were visited twice regardless of whether they participated in agricultural activities. Some important factors such as labour, food consumption, and expenditures were collected during both visits.
Nigeria - General Household Survey, Panel 2012-2013, Wave 2
The second wave consists of two visits to the household: the postplanting visit occurred directly after the planting season to collect information on preparation of plots, inputs used, labour used for planting and other issues related to the planting season. The post-harvest visit occurred after the harvest season and collected information on crops harvested, labour used for cultivating and harvest activities, and other issues related to the harvest cycle.
Nigeria - General Household Survey, Panel 2010
The GHS is a cross-sectional survey of 22,000 households throughout the country. The panel component (GHS-Panel) is now being applied to 5,000 households of the GHS and covers multiple agricultural activities. The focus of this panel component is to improve data from the agriculture sector and link this to other facets of household behavior and characteristics. The GHS-Panel drew heavily on the HNLSS and the NASS to create a new survey instrument and method to shed light on the role of agriculture in households’ economic wellbeing. The NBS implemented the first stage (Post Planting) of the first wave of the GHS-Panel in 2010. This panel is a subset of the full GHS (or GHS-Cross Section) that will be finished in 2011.) It is envisaged that the GHS-Panel will be carried out every two years while the GHS-Cross Section will be carried out annually.
AFSUN Urban Food Security Series Publications
The African Food Security Urban Network (AFSUN) was founded in 2008 to address the crisis of food insecurity in Africa’s rapidly-growing towns and cities. AFSUN aims to improve the knowledge base of the dimensions and causes of urban food insecurity in Africa and to develop and advocate for international, national and local policies to enhance food and nutrition security.
GIEWS - Global Information and Early Warning System on Food and Agriculture
GIEWS continuously monitors food supply and demand and other key indicators for assessing the overall food security situation in all countries of the world. It issues regular analytical and objective reports on prevailing conditions and provides early warnings of impending food crises at country or regional level. At the request of national authorities, GIEWS supports countries in gathering evidence for policy decisions, or planning by development partners, through its Crop and Food Security Assessment Missions (CFSAMs), fielded jointly with WFP. In country-level application of tools for earth observation and price monitoring, GIEWS also strengthens national capacities in managing food security related information.
IFDC Publications - free downloads
IFDC ( International Fertilizer Development Center) provides a number of Technical Bulletins, Special Bulletins, and other reports as PDF downloads, covering Sub-Saharan Africa, some of which are also country specific.
Click on Publications at the top of the page, the select a category to see the titles available.
The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty. IFPRI is one of 15 centers supported by the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research, an alliance of 64 governments, private foundations, and international and regional organizations.
ELDIS: Electronic Development and Environment System
Hosted by the Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, this site"is a gateway to information on development issues, providing free and easy access to wide range of high quality online resources...(and) offers a directory of websites, databases, library catalogues and email discussion lists." Also provides links to subject guides on topics such as (among others) food security, HIV/AIDS, and trade policy.
AGRIS (Free FAO version) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition. The database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations. Information on using AGRIS to locate FAO reports
FAO Corporate Document Repository This link opens in a new window
The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet. The advanced search provides the user with the means to carry out a specific search, by querying a particular field or combination of fields. There are three distinct advanced searches, one for meeting documents one for publications, such as books and journals, and one for articles.
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database (AfricaBib) This link opens in a new window
The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography)
African Studies Abstracts Online This link opens in a new window
African Studies Abstracts Online is the new electronic journal of the African Studies Centre in Leiden. Like its printed predecessor (African Studies Abstracts), African Studies Abstracts Online provides an overview of articles from periodicals and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the library of the African Studies Centre in Leiden.
PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 42,709 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 1,346,186 citations. The Library will add about 20,000 citations each month. The new release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements. Note that there is both citation-only and full-text content. Many of the citation-only items can be found at the MSU Libraries in subscribed content.
World Bank E-Library This link opens in a new window
Contains over 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers from the World Bank, including the final, peer-reviewed versions of the Bank's formal publications.