Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Michigan State University: Newspapers

A guide to locating information about MSU and its history

Student Newpapers

This is the lineage of the current MSU student newspaper:

The Holcad.  East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan Agricultural College.  Vol. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 10, 1909)-v. 17, no. 59 (May 12, 1925).  Library Special Collections  (LH1.M53 M53) and University Archives.  Filed as "State News" in Library microfilm collection.

The Michigan State News.  East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan State College.  Vol. 18, no. 1 (Sept. 15, 1925)-v.53, no. 164 (Mar. 13, 1962).  University Archives or filed as "State News" in Library microfilm collection.

The State News.  East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan State University.  Vol. 53, no. 165 (Mar. 29, 1962)-  Library microfilm collection.   Available online from Sept. 2000 on.   1925-1980 scanned as daily pdfs; some issues missing or hard to read.

There are two indexes to the State News: both are indexes to major articles and are not comprehensive. 

State News Card index covers 1975-1980 (?)  Available at the Main Library Reference Desk.  Card catalog of major articles in the State News.

 

The College Speculum (1881-1895) included essays, poems, science reports, book reviews, college news, and notes from alumni.

The college speculum. Lansing, Mich : Agricultural College, Vol. 1, no. 1 (Aug. 1, 1881)-v. 7, no. 6 (July 10, 1888). LH1.M53 S634

The college speculum. Lansing, Mich : Agricultural College, Vol. 8, no. 1 (Aug. 10, 1888)-v. 14, no. 4 (Nov. 15, 1895). folio LH1.M53 S634

Digitized issues are available in the MSU Libraries Digital Collections.

Issues missing from the Digital Collections are available online through the MSU Archives.

 

The Eagle (1892-1893) contained community news, event announcements, snippets of board meetings, student activities, alumni happenings, and editorials.

The eagle. [Lansing, Mich.] : Roscoe Kedzie, 1892-1893. University Archives only.

Issues digitized by MSU Archives are available online.

Other News publications

This series grew from a newsletter for the Agriculture College to an alumni magazine that was mailed to all alumni.

M.A.C. Record.  Lansing, Mich. : Agricultural College, 1896-1925.   Library Special Collections (LH1.M53 R4) and University Archives  Issues of the M.A.C. Record from 1896 to 1925 have been digitized.  See what's available and read online.

M.S.C. Record.  East Lansing, Mich : M.S.C. Association, 1925-1955.     Library Special Collections ( LH1.M53 R4) and University Archives. Issues of the M.S.C. Record from 1925 to 1955 have been digitized.  See what's available and read online

Michigan State University Magazine.  East Lansing, Mich. : Dept. of Information Services, Michigan State University of Agriculture and Applied Science, 1955-1962.    Library (LH1 .M53 M5) and University Archives

Michigan State University alumni magazine. East Lansing, Mich. : Department of Information Services, Michigan State University, 1962-1967.   Library (LH1.M53 M5) and University Archives

MSU. Michigan State University Alumni Association magazine. [East Lansing, Mich.] : [Michigan State University Alumni Association], 1967-1982. Library (LH1.M53 M5) and University Archives

MSU alumni magazine. [East Lansing, Mich.] : [Michigan State University Alumni Association MSU Alumni Association, Union Building; Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mi. 48824-1029], [1983-2017].  Library (LH1.M53 M52) and University Archives

Spartan. East Lansing, Mich. : MSU Alumni Association, 2017- .  Library (LH1.M53 M52) and University Archives

 

This series is a newsletter for faculty.

Format.   East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan State University, 1964-1969. Library (LD 3245 .M176 F6). 

News Highlights.  East Lansing, Michigan State University, 1962-1969.  Library (LD 3245 .M023) and University Archives

MSU Faculty News.  East Lansing, Mich : Michigan State University. Dept. of Information Services, 1969-1971 (Replaces Format magazine and MSU News Highlights). Library (LD3245.M176 M12) and University Archives.

MSU News-Bulletin.  East Lansing, Michigan State University, Dept. of Information Services.  V. 2, no. 21 (Apr. 1, 1971)-v.40, no. 9 (Jan. 15, 2009)-- formed by the merger of MSU Faculty News and MSU Bulletin and continues the volume numbering of MSU faculty news.  Library (LD3245.M176 M14) and University Archives. Select issues digitized by MSU Archives are available online.

MSU News.  Staff & Faculty.  East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan State University, University Relations, 2009-    .  Available online only.

 

Alternative Student Newspapers

 

Michigan State University