Streaming media involves watching a film online on your computer. We have bought, or are subscribing to, quite a number of streaming media services. In some cases you can find the film via our online catalog, just like a book. In these cases there will be a link within the catalog record to the streaming service to click on; viola you are all set!
To see the different streaming media services we are offering do this: From the Libraries' Home Page, on the left side under the heading "Quick Links", click on "Electronic Resources." Next click on "Media" on the left side of your screen. Now you should see, on the right side of your screen, quite a long list called "Streaming Video." These are the companies whose wares we are offering. By hovering your mouse over the black I icon you learn about the content of the different services. Below are some services that might contain films in French or be about France:
Cross searchable portal for finding the content of all the Alexander Street Press' video collections, such as Ethnographic Video Online, World History Video Online, Silent Films Online, Opera In Video, Theatre in Video. Many of these are accessible individually below.
Ambrose Digital Library Complete collection of Ambrose Digital Videos as of June 2016. Click on “Institutional Access” at the top. Up comes an alphabetical list of what is accessible to M.S.U., the subject categories. Click on the category to see a list of videos available on that topic. In the Institutional Access section, at the top, there is also a search box. Try putting in first the word France and search that; or use the word French.
Includes content in the areas of Architecture, Visual Art, Design / Fashion / New Media, Film and Cinema, Media and Television, Music, Performing art, Performance Art, Photography, and Theatre. There are a few in history/politics, language/literature, and philosophy/religion. The largest number are in film/cinema and theatre.
ArtMattan Films Collection Films on human experience of Black peoples in Africa, Caribbean, North/South America, and Europe.
Digitalia Film Library--French Collection
70 French films to watch online.
Docuseek2: a Complete Collection
"Docuseek2 launched in 2012 as a joint project of Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films, two leaders in independent, social issue and educational film distribution. The Docuseek2 Complete Collection provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films."
Ethnographic Video Online Streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. Brought to you in partnership with Global Eagle, this outstanding collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. Not many in French; maybe more will be coming.
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Kanopy Films We offer access to selected collections in the Global Studies and Languages category, including the European/Baltic Collection and the Latin American, Asian & Middle East, Australian and African Studies Collections, about 700 films of the 26,000 some Kanopy offers. Enter name of film desired in quotation marks in box near top right. Narrow search results by using the facets for broad topic, name of film maker, language, etc. along the left side of screen. There are at least 279 entries under "French" in the language section.
LION (Literature Online) Multimedia Section Poets online reading their own and each other's works.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts 1990-Present 200 full length feature films. Over 50 award winning short films. Can browse by country. Has 40 under France.
Opera in Video The most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
PBS Video Collection 245 of the greatest documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Corporation.
Silent Film Online Silent Film Online brings together silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory.
Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. The Holocaust and War Crimes portion might be useful. Basic keyword search "France" yields 103 hits; "French" yields 123 hits. None were produced in France, though. We have modules I and II. I is on wars and revolutions. II is newsreels and cinemagazines.
A streaming video collection containing approximately 1000 films, primarily full-length feature films. Categories include drama, action, adventure, war, musical, children's/family, thriller, comedy, western, crime, mystery, romance, fantasy, science fiction, horror, avant-garde, and documentary. Most were originally issued as motion pictures. They are primarily in English; some in other languages have subtitles. Our performing arts librarian subject specialist says "think of this as the history of Hollywood film."
Theatre in Video Vol. 1 and Theatre in Video Vol. 2 Definitive performances of the world's leading plays. Instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging. Vol. 2 contains more international productions than Vol. 1.
World History in Video Documentaries for exploration of human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.