Film Index International
Film Index International covers films from all countries and in all languages since 1930, including feature films, Hollywood entertainment shorts, documentaries and TV movies from all over the world. It contains details of more than 90,000 entertainment films, biographical details of over 30,000 personalities and references to periodical articles on films, film reviews and film personalities. To find articles/reviews/criticism for a particular film do a search for the film title. Directory information about the film and its personnel appear first. Scroll down to see the citations to articles at the bottom of the entry. Search for actors, actresses, directors, producers, etc. using the people search.
Art Full Text with Art Index Retrospective
Indexes over 300 journals covering advertising art; antiques; archaeology; architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art; crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures; museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television; textiles; and video. After entering this database, click on "Indexes" (in blue at page top). Choose Art Full Text or Art Index Retrospective (if you want info on really old films). In the box next to "Browse an Index" click on the down arrow and choose Subject Terms. Type into the Browse for box: french films; you will see the various related topics and how many entries the database has. Choose one or more topics by clicking a check mark into the box beside the topic. Then click on the Add button to input your search. To search for actors, actresses, directors, producers, etc. type the individual's name in the search box, click on the down arrow where it says "Select a field," and click "Subject terms" into the field box; click the green search button.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Interface)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Search for information about a film by typing in the film title and clicking the down arrow and pasting TI Title into the box next to the search line where it says "Select a field (optional)." OR. Click on the word "Thesaurus" in the blue bar at the screen top near the left end. In the Browse box type in: French film. Click on the Browse button. Then choose French film from the list that appears by clicking in the box next to it. Then click on the Add button, which pastes this descriptor into the search box above. Click search. If you would like more results to look through go back to the Thesaurus and browse for the word: film. Add and Search that. Then, in the Thesaurus browse for the word: France. Add and Search that. THEN. Click on Search history, which is below the search box lines. At the left of the screen click a check mark beside each result and click on "Search with and".
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Useful subjects to try: French films; French films--history and criticism; titles of films; surnames of actors directors, producers, etc.
Free Access to Pascal (Science) and Francis (Humanities and Social Sciences)
Do simple and advanced searches, classification searches (subject scheme), on this now freely available database from the French Scientific Information Dept. of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). Francis is the database for social sciences and humanities materials. Indexes materials in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish from journals, conference proceedings, dissertations. Covers materials indexed in Francis from 1972-2015, 2 million items. Do your search. Then look up the journal name, conference, dissertation in our online catalog for access. If we don't have it, request ILL.
Persee is a digital library of open access, mostly French-language scholarly journals, established by the Ministry of National Education of France in 2005. It is maintained by the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, French National Centre for Scientific Research, and University of Lyon. It is one of the largest Francophone portals dedicated to human and social sciences, offering c. 600,000 freely available documents.
Film Review Annual Consulting Reference 1 East PN 1995 .F463 [year]
1981-2002, an annual that provides directory information for the films it covers, plus the full-texts of 4-6 reviews of it, taken from Sight and Sound, Los Angeles Times, New York, New York Post, Newsday, Village Voice, New Statesman, Time. Occasionally a few more citations to reviews of the films are also given.