Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancestry Library Edition
Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. A collection of more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names including U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes), Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes), The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630, Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives, and a Civil War collection.
Michigan County Histories and Atlases
The Michigan County Histories and Atlases Digitization Project is comprised of 428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923. This is a public resource and can be accessed from any computer.
Using the Michigan County Histories and Atlases online collection
Tutorial for finding and using maps in the Michigan County Histories online collection.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Michigan
The Sanborn Map Company worked from the 1870's to the 1950's to create very large scale maps of thousands of towns in America. They show hard-to-find information about the history of cities and towns.
Online Maps Guide
You can find maps from across the country to across the globe.
The Making of Modern Michigan: Digitizing Michigan's Hidden Past
It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more. It is fun to browse through the collection!
New York Times, 1851-2013 (rolling embargo date)
Do you have any New York ancestors? If so, check out this newspaper.
You can find additional newspapers from across the globe including Times of London.
Subject Search on History
There are many area specific resources including Ireland, England, Michigan, and Canada and time specific resources including the Civil War, Eighteenth-Century Life, and America in the 1930s.