LibGuides: Iberia 1400-1700: English Language Resources: Indexes

Indexes

Use an index to identify scholarly periodical articles and books. The steps in the process are:

Choose an index.

Do the search, using keywords or controlled vocabulary or both.

Modify the strategy to improve results if necessary.

Understand the citations retrieved. Print, save, e-mail, or export them, if desired.

Find the full text of the article in the Library, by following links in the index to the full text, or by looking up the journal title in E Books and Journals. If you can't find an electronic version of the journal, try looking for the journal name in Books and Media, as we may have a paper/cloth bound volume. If we do, it might be in Remote Storage; there will be a "Get This" button in the catalog record to have it brought out from Remote Storage to the Circulation Desk to check out. Full texts may be online, on paper, or on microform. If we do not own the journal, use Interlibrary loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Covers the fields of archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
An index to social science and humanities journal literature about Latin America, the Caribbean and U.S. Hispanic populations. More than 650 journals are indexed, with 200 titles currently available in full-text. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese and searches may also be conducted in all three languages.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
The Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index, HAPI Online indexes more than 500 social science and humanities journals with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage from 1970 to the present. Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. Each is produced by different providers using different algorithms however, so search results differ. Try both!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. The journals come from the periodicals on microfilm held in the vault of ProQuest Information and Learning, once known as University Microfilms.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Indexing using Library of Congress subject headings and containing links to full texts of journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers, particularly in the humanities. Years available vary by journal.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.

Peninsular Literature: a Guide to Selected Resources will be helpful if your topic is literary. Look at the resources in the Article Indexes tab in this research guide.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Iberia 1400-1700: English Language Resources: Indexes

Indexes