Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources can help you:
- Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
- Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
- Find references to other books and articles on the subject
- Find specific keywords to use in online searches
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by
Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world's most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
A Dictionary of Economics by
Publication Date: 2017-03-12
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area. The new edition of this dictionary has been updated to include entries on China, India, and South America, to reflect the increase in prominence of these regions in the global economy. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as "austerity measures," "General Anti Abuse Rule," "propensity score matching," and "shadow bank." Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a list of Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites. As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
Research & Statistical Methods
MSU Library Catalog
Find print and online books on research and statistical methodology listed in the catalog.
STATSnetBASE This link opens in a new window
From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data. To search STATSnetBASE titles, choose “Advanced Search” upon connecting to CRCnetBASE and limit your search to the “Statistics” Subject collection.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks and videos on research methods including Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics, Encyclopedia of Research Design, Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods, SAGE Secondary Data Analysis . Sage's Little Green Books provide guidance on quantitative research methods and the Little Blue Books series covers qualitative research. Short, indepth guides on specific research methods such as analyzing panel data, assessing inequality and regression analysis.
Review articles are an excellent way to get an overview of a new area, understand major theoretical approaches and methodologies, identify key researchers and gaps in existing literature. Many also have extensive bibliographies that can save time when conducting literature reviews.
More questions? Contact me!
Rssources for Economists on the Internet
Sponsored by the American Economic Association. Lists over 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics.