Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding full-text from a citation
When searching a database, if there is no direct link to the article full text, look for
Click on it. If full text is available online, it should link directly to the article.
If that does not work:
- Check the catalog using the 'Journal/Periodical title' option (it may be in print in the library and grad students, staff and faculty will be able to request online delivery of print articles)
To request online delivery of print articles or book chapters in the MSU Libraries, use the MARS service. (Only available for MSU graduate students, staff and faculty.)
Other Article Resources
You may need to use article indexes in related areas such as Business and International Development, or some geographically based indexes if your research is focused on a specific geographic region.
You can find databases by subject area in our Database List.
Journal Articles: Core Indexes
Journal of Economic Literature
JEL's "purpose is to help economists keep up with the ever-increasing volume of economics research....by publishing survey articles and essays, book reviews, and an extensive bibliographic guide to the contents of current economics periodicals."
The premier economics literature database. Citations and abstracts, to articles from more than 400 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and subject indexing of dissertation titles are included. Some working paper series are also included.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Provides access to full-text academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliographic index.
Economist Historical Archive
Contains every page of every issue of The Economist published from 1843 to 2011 and provides an invaluable perspective on the great events of the 19th and 20th centuries and offers tracking and comparison of economic and political trends across continents and centuries.
Working Papers & Reports
IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
World's largest freely available bibliographic database dedicated to economics.
Indexes economics working papers, journal articles and software.EconPapers
offers another search interface.
NBER Working Papers
National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers
Fed in Print
A comprehensive index to Federal Reserve economic research.
Includes Policy Discussion Papers, Working Papers and World Economic and Financial Surveys. The MSU Libraries also has a large collection of IMF publications. Search for these in the MSU Library Catalog.
World Bank E-Library
Contains over 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers from the World Bank, including the final, peer-reviewed versions of the Bank's formal publications.
Journal Articles: Multidisciplinary
Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyze and visualize research.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
From the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science, this source indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages.