LibGuides: Management Resources: Financial Ratios

Subject Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Business, Labor Relations and Human Resources

Industry Ratios

Financial ratios are a useful method for measuring a company’s performance against other companies in an industry as well as measuring industry performance.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Provides composite financial analysis, including detailed balance sheets, covering a very wide range of industries and U.S. geographies up to the national level and down to zip code.
eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
eStatement Studies is the online version of RMA's two print titles: Financial Ratios Benchmarks, and Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures, which include industry financial ratios for over 760 industries and probability of default estimates, cash flow measures, and change in financial position information for more than 680 industries. It contains 10 years of historical data and can be narrowed down to region in the U.S.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
***Mergent Online is being discontinued by Mergent and access will end June 30, 2025. Please use one of our other company databases: Mergent Market Atlas, LSEG Workspace, or FactSet. ***
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies. Mergent is good for finding company financials, SEC filings (US only) current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies, stock information, and executive information. It also has company history, competitors, company ownership (i.e. institutional holdings, insiders, etc.), corporate calendar, company news, industry profiles, and country profiles. ***To search the private companies, select D&B Private Company Database. Includes separate tabs for Mergent Supply Chain, Mergent Bond Viewer, and Mergent Investext.***

Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios
HF 5681 .R25 A4 (Business Library--Reference)
Based on tax returns, this is a good source of corporate performance information organized by industry.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
HF5681.R25 (Business Library--Reference)
From Dun & Bradstreet, this series provides ratios across several industries including retailing, manufacturing, finance, agriculture, mining, transportation, and many more.

Company Ratios

Factiva This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only six users at a time.**
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal. Also provides company, industry, and market information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
To find company ratios, choose the "business" tab from across the top, then search by company name. From the company snapshot page, choose "financial information" and scroll down to "ratio analyis."
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
To find company ratios, search by company name or ticker. Then in the company details page, choose the "company financials" tab from across the top. Then choose "ratios." **Access is allowed for only two users at a time.**