LibGuides: Psychology Research Guide: Finding Journal Articles

Recommended Psychology Databases

Although many databases contain Psychology articles, the following databases are great places to begin your research.

PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Produced by the APA, PsycINFO is the premier resource for finding psychology and related disciplines, including psychology articles from sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, anthropology, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
PubMed/MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Particularly useful for psychological research in health psychology, biopsychology, and neuroscience.

Additional Databases for Psychology Research

At times, specialized indexes or interdisciplinary databases will be valuable for psychological research. To locate a database not listed here, browse the MSU Libraries Database List for a complete record of subject specific databases. Additionally, consider asking for assistance if you don't get the results you expect from a search.

Interdisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window
JoVE is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal publishing experimental techniques in biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, behavioral sciences, and medicine. JoVE is a terrific resource for video demonstrations and text protocols of research methods and contains an array of Psychology and Neuroscience content.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.

Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly documents from across the web, with the additional ability to link to the MSU Libraries' collections. For more information on accessing articles from off campus, visit this video.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). Coverage largely centers on the physical sciences but includes over 250 Psychology and Neuroscience journals and book series.

Subject Specific Databases

Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia online resource that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. The collection pairs 75 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 40,000 pages of primary-source documents.
Oxford Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new window
Oxford Clinical Psychology provides full-text access to over 300 titles in Oxford's global clinical psychology publishing program. It covers a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc (APPI). Includes the DSM® Library, APPI journals with full text. APPI ebooks, treatment guidelines and patient info. Great for clinicians and students.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Particularly focused on biological and life sciences research, the BIOSIS Citation Index contains powerful citation indexing. Database primarily covers journal, with selective inclusion of books, conferences, and patents.

Finding Journal Articles

Library databases can be a terrific resource for identifying journal articles published on specific topics. In addition to journal articles, many databases additionally include book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other resources.

Conducting a Psychology Literature Review
An introductory guide to conducting a psychology literature review, breaking the search process into five simple steps.
Tips for Finding Articles in the MSU Libraries
An introductory MSU Libraries libguide focused on locating journal articles within the library's collections.

Individual Journals

To locate specific Psychology Journals within the library catalog, use the below link to search by journal title. Additionally, see the Psychology Journals guide for detailed resources about journals in psychology.

Advanced Catalog Search