LibGuides: Psychology Research Guide: Encyclopedias, Books, and E-Resources

Finding Resources

How do I search for resources on my topic?

To search for resources in the MSU Libraries, use the library catalog. The catalog is a searchable listing of printed and electronic materials located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, e-books, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.

If the resource you are looking for is checked out or is located in our Remote Storage facility, you can ask us to get it for you in one of two ways:

Use the button to see if local delivery options are available.
If not available at MSU, you may request a copy using interlibrary loan

Featured Resources

Handbooks on psychology abound in the publishing world. Below are listed only some of recent acquisitions on the most general topics. MSU Libraries may own many more specialized titles for specific population groups or issues.

APA Handbook of Community Psychology, Vol. 1 by Meg A. Bond (Editor); Irma Serrano-García (Editor); Christopher Key (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433822575
Publication Date: 2017
With chapters authored by both senior and rising scholars, the APA Handbook of Community Psychology provides an authoritative reference resource for researchers, instructors, students, practitioners, field leaders and life-long learners.
APA handbook of community psychology. Vol. 2, Methods for community research and action for diverse groups and issu by Meg A. Bond (Editor); Irma Serrano-García (Editor); Christopher Key (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
This highly anticipated addition to the APA Handbooks in Psychology® series covers current knowledge and identifies the most pertinent sources of information in both the core and evolving literature. It highlights community psychology's emphasis on the synergistic relationship between research and action, and offers an international outlook, including chapters integrating perspectives from across cultures and contexts around the world.
The Cambridge Handbook of Workplace Affect by Liu-Qin Yang (Editor); Russell Cropanzano (Editor); Catherine S. Daus (Editor); Vicente Martínez-Tur (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108573887
Publication Date: 2020-06-25
Experts in organizational psychology, management science, social psychology, and communication science show you how to implement interventions and programs to manage workplace emotion.
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion by David A. Leeming
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9783030243470
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of African American Psychology by Helen A. Neville (Editor); Brendesha M. Tynes (Editor); Shawn O. Utsey (Editor)
ISBN: 1412956870
Publication Date: 2008-11-21
The Handbook of African American Psychology provides a comprehensive guide to current developments in African American psychology. It presents theoretical, empirical, and practical issues that are foundational to African American psychology.
Handbook of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapies, Fourth Edition by Keith S. Dobson (Editor); David J. A. Dozois (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781462538614
Publication Date: 2019-01-18
Now revised and expanded with over 50% new material, this definitive clinical reference is the text of choice for graduate-level courses in evidence-based psychotherapy.
Handbook of International Psychology Ethics by Karen L. Parsonson
Call Number: BF76.4 .H35 2021
ISBN: 9780367374464
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
The Handbook of International Psychology Ethics discusses the most central, guiding principles of practice for mental health professionals around the world. For researchers, practicing mental health professionals, and students alike, the book provides a window into the values and belief systems of cultures worldwide. Chapters cover ethics codes from psychological associations and societies on five continents, translating each code into English and discussing vital questions around how the code is put into practice, what it means to association members and society at large, as well as how the code was developed within its unique historical, political, and cultural context.
Oxford Handbook of Chinese Psychology by Michael Harris Bond
Call Number: GN635 .C5 O94 2010
ISBN: 9780199541850
Publication Date: 2010-05-02
The Oxford Handbook of Chinese Psychology is a comprehensive review of Chinese psychology. In 42 chapters, leading authorities cite and integrate both English and Chinese-language research in topic areas ranging from the socialization of children, mathematics achievement, emotion, bilingualism and Chinese styles of thinking to Chinese identity, personal relationships, leadership processes and psychopathology.
The Oxford Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology by Kay Deaux (Editor); Mark Snyder (Editor)
Call Number: BF131 .O94 2019
ISBN: 9780190224837
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
The second edition of The Oxford Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology captures the history, current status, and future prospects of personality and social psychology.
Reporting Qualitative Research in Psychology: How to Meet APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards by Heidi M. Levitt
Publication Date: 2020
Note: This book was ordered for the MSU Libraries October 2022 and should become available shortly. Please inquire if this entry hasn't been updated with the access link.
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology: How to Meet APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards: by Harris M. Cooper
ISBN: 1433833425
Publication Date: 2020
Note: This book was ordered for the MSU Libraries October 2022 and should become available shortly. Please inquire if this entry hasn't been updated with the access link.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd ed. by Steven G. Rogelberg
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781483386874
Publication Date: 2017

SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is an online research tool created to help students and researchers across the social and behavioral sciences to design research projects, understand methods or identify new methods, conduct research, and write up their findings.

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology by Lee Cohen (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781119057840
Publication Date: 2020-11-12
Organized thematically as an A to Z reference encyclopedia across 4 volumes, this comprehensive resource on health psychology provides a concise overview of the ever-expanding interdisciplinary field.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Psychology Research Guide

Finding Resources

How do I search for resources on my topic?

Featured Resources