LibGuides: Veterinary Medicine Research Guide: Finding Books

Searching the Catalog

MSU Libraries' Online Catalog

The catalog can be searched to find items owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including books, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

When should you use the catalog?

To find whether the MSU Libraries own a specific book
To browse for books on a topic
To find whether the MSU Libraries subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper

NOTE: You cannot use the catalog to find individual articles within a journal. For this you must search in the journal itself or use an article database.

Electronic Books

Veterinary Medicine Ebooks
A select list of electronic veterinary medicine books. Titles are arranged alphabetically by subject.
Electronic Medical Books
Electronic books used in human medicine. Includes a select list of titles arranged alphabetically by specialty or subject, as well as links to larger ebook collections.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and dictionaries that are great resources for foundational biomedical information.

Concise Medical Dictionary
This illustrated dictionary contains over 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covers a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control, and the environment to help researchers consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Contains introductory and advanced articles on many different biological topics, written by experts and continuously updated.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Features information on almost 2,000 medical topics and almost 900 color illustrations, images, charts, and statistical tables. Entries are reviewed by an advisory board of medical experts.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Includes definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.
Oxford Dictionary of Biology
The perfect guide for anyone studying biology, with more than 5,500 clear and concise entries providing comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Veterinary Medicine Research Guide

Searching the Catalog

Electronic Books

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries