Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Information Resources For Engineering Graduate Students: Electronic Resources

This guide will introduce you to the resources and services of the Engineering Library.

Electronic Journals

MSU users have access to a large number of electronic journals. The number of years available online varies. For some titles such as those from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) all the years are available online. For other titles only a limited number of years are available online. If you try to access a journal article online and are asked for a password, this usually means that MSU users do not have access to that year of the journal. Note that not all of the journals that MSU subscribes to in print are available online.

E-Books

The MSU Libraries provide users with access to an increasingly large number of e-books.  Below are links to selected e-book collections:

 

Provides online full-text access to over 700 McGraw-Hill engineering titles including standard works such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers. Major engineering subject area covered include biomedical, chemical, civil, communications, construction, electrical, energy, environmental, green/sustainable, industrial, material science, mechanical, nanotechnology, optical. The full text of these titles is searchable.

This collection includes over 600 full text handbooks and reference works in biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering; food science; and metals and metallurgy.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science Collection

SYNTHESIS is an innovative information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with advanced digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print and digital publications

 

Indexes & Databases

Indexes

Indexes are the primary tool for finding journal and conference articles on a particular topic. No one index covers all of the subject areas that  engineering students might be interested in and there is some overlap between indexes that cover engineering. Some indexes only cover journals while others index a wide range sources such as books, reports, conferences, journal, and patents. Most index producers have developed their own search interfaces. From the electronic resource index search page it is possible to search for indexes by title or by a subject such as Computers or Engineering. Below are some of the major indexes that might be of interest to engineers and engineering students.

Compendex

Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.

ACM Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library contains over 30 publications All full-text Conference Proceedings Publication archives dating back to the 1950s; over 1 million pages of text; over 50,000 bibliographic citations.

 CIVIL ENGINEERING DATABASE

This database indexes all of the publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers from 1975 to the present including all of their journals, conferences, books, manuals and standards. It can be searched by author, title, and keyword. To begin a search click on the “Search" button on the left side of the screen. The Engineering Library subscribes to both the print and electronic versions of all of the ASCE journals and purchases some of the other ASCE publications in print.

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE and IET. Coverage is complete from 1988 to the present. More backfiles will be added as content is digitized.

Materials Reserach Database

Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.  Includes the Materials Business Data File.


 

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database

This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.  More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full Text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.  Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT — Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.        

               SciFinder

SciFinder is a research tool that allows you to access the world's largest collection of biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and other related information. SciFinder provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database.    

 

Scopus

SpringerLink

SpringerLink is the platform for European based publisher Springer. It provides online access to reference works and other e-books, in addition to their journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields.

Web of Science

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Subject Guide

Tom Volkening's picture
Tom Volkening
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-432-1498
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University