Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Physics and Astronomy Research Guide: Finding the Literature and More

Quick Help!

Key Science Databases

Arximedes   11 million+ physical sciences & technology papers   (about Arximedes coverage). 
arXiv e-prints    e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics  (hosted by Cornell University)

Google Scholar - access to many full-text MSU journals
INSPIRE   High-Energy Physics Literature Database  (about INSPIRE coverage)
ScienceDirect    search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access - covers 3,800 journals. 
Scopus  world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature
Scitation  quick gateway to the contents of 100 journals published by the AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies - (note:  you will find more comprehensive results searching Web of Science and Scopus since you will be searching a wider array of journals and publishers)
Web of Science 
(aka Science Citation Index) citation database coverage -  provides access to the major journals in the various disciplines of the sciences. It is well-known for "Cited Reference" searching, allowing users to trace citation history forward.  Cited Reference searching lets users navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Use this link for a good tutorial on cited reference

Complete List of Databases  - find the best library databases for your research

Quick Links

Library Catalog

Advanced Catalog Search


Resource News & Service Alerts


NASA Unveils New Public Web Portal for Research Results  - an archive of original science journal articles produced by NASA-funded research and available online without a fee. The data will be available for download, reading and analysis within one year of publication

NASA Patent Portfolio - public domain patents - new!

Astronomy Thesis Collection
- open, online repository

BrowZine   now available on the Web!  See our

60 Years of CERN Experiments and Discoveries is now available open access! 

Register for ORCID
provides a persistent digital personal identifier for authors - registry of data research repositories   

Astronomy Image Explorer  hundreds of thousands of images, illustrations, graphs, charts, and videos published in peer-reviewed journals

Feynman Lectures On Physics  online edition

Subject Librarian

Judy Matthews
366 W. Circle Drive – Rm. W118

East Lansing, MI 48824

Phone 884-5882

Librarian Office Hours


Upon request - you may contact me by phone or email!   I can meet with you at BPS or another location of your convenience!

Judy Matthews 
MSU Libraries

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University