Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note on Astronomy Resources
Many of the resources will be relevant to those interested in the fields of Physics and Astronomy generally. This page highlights some resources specifically related to Astronomy.
ADS: Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of astronomy literature from 1975 to the present; links to many full-text articles and object data.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
In addition to optics and photonics research, the SPIE Digital Library also provides access to the Journal of Astronomical Telescopes, Instruments, and Systems.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
1785- , GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. It also includes literature on extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry and geophysics.
PDS: The Planetary Data System
The Planetary Data System (PDS) is a long-term archive of digital data products returned from NASA's planetary missions, and from other kinds of flight and ground-based data acquisitions, including laboratory experiments.
High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC)
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA's (and other space agencies') missions studying electromagnetic radiation from extremely energetic cosmic phenomena ranging from black holes to the Big Bang.
NASA/IPAC Extragalatic Database (NED)
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies.
Astronomy Image Explorer
The Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE) has been designed as a convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals. Users are able to easily search for images with any combination of author, journal, citation, format, and key words. Copyright information is conveniently embedded in each file downloaded from the site.
Hubble Space Telescope Images
ESA/Hubble images, videos and web texts are available for reuse under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.
NASA Image and Video Library
The majority of NASA's image library is available to use without copyright restrictions, with the exception of images with the NASA logo.
Images from the Hubble Space Telescope image library
A Dictionary of Astronomy by
Call Number: QB14 .D52 2012 Online
Publication Date: 2012
The revised second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,300 up-to-date entries covering all aspects of astronomy.