Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

IAH 208-009: Music, Society, and the State in Latin America and the Caribbean: Reference Works

Prof. Christopher Estrada, Spring 2021

General Histories

The Cambridge History of Latin America.

Essays by top scholars. Excellent bibliographic essays corresponding to each chapter are at the end of the volumes. The printed edition is also in the collection.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference searches numerous online reference works simultaneously, including the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Brazil Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic. John J. Crocitti and Monique Vallance, eds. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2012.

Caribbean Popular Music: An Encyclopedia of Reggae, Mento, Ska, Rock Steady and Dancehall. David V. Moskowitz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006.

Focuses on Jamaican popular music history.

Cuban Music from A to Z. Helio Orovio. Durham: Duke University Press, 2004.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. Jay Kinsbuner and Erick D. Langer, eds. New York: C. Scribner’s Sons, 2006. (6 vols.)

The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music. Dale A. Olsen and Daniel E. Sheehy, eds. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2008.

To view specific chapters online (rather than downloading them) click on the "Read Online" button on the right-hand side of the e-book landing page, then consult the table-of-contents at the beginning of the book or look for specific terms or names in the index.

Historical Dictionary of the Dirty Wars. David Kohut and Olga Vilella. 3rd. ed. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

Latin American Historical Dictionaries Series. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 197-

A country series. Search the catalog for titles in the form: Historical Dictionary of [Country]. Newer editions are online, older editions in print.

Music Reference

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

Scroll down to Terms You Need to Know (or What is Common Knowledge?) courtesy of Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services.

Michigan State University