Music Research

Music Periodicals Database draws from more than 360 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. A list of included journal titles is available.

Music Index began in 1949 as an index of books and articles about music, including book reviews, obituaries, music books, scores, and recordings. Currently, over 800 sources are indexed, in many languages and from many countries. The online version is retrospective to 1974 and is the most current index, with new entries added within four to six months after publication. Approximately one year of archival material is added annually. This is an index only; no abstracts are included. It is the only source covering 1949-1969, when RILM Abstracts began publication. There is some overlap with RILM but many journals are uniquely covered in each. Printed volumes for the entire retrospective run of Music Index can be found in the Fine Arts - Music Reference section: ML 118 .M84.

1967-
Offers an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, including original language titles; title translations in English; full bibliographic information; abstracts in English; and author, journal, and subject indexes. Includes all forms of scholarly works.

This full-text database is a unique collection of primary source material and periodicals for the study of music and musical life from 1760 to 1966. Content Includes:

Indexing more than 270 music periodicals from cover to cover, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more

Full-text for more than 180 rare primary source journals

Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.

Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Muse is a unique collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University. Years available vary by journal.

Search all ProQuest databases