Music OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCross-searchable interface for multiple streaming music products from Alexander Street Press:Music Online: African American Music ReferenceMusic Online: American MusicMusic Online: Classical Music in VideoMusic Online: Classical Music LibraryMusic Online: Classical Music Reference LibraryMusic Online: Classical Performance in VideoMusic Online: Classical Scores LibraryMusic Online: Contemporary World MusicMusic Online: Jazz Music LibraryMusic Online: ListeningMusic Online: Opera in VideoMusic Online: Popular Music LibraryMusic Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Music Online: American MusicThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 728 albums -- more than 12,103 tracks.
Music Online: Classical Music LibraryThis link opens in a new windowClassical Music Library includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Music Online: Contemporary World MusicThis link opens in a new windowContemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This release includes 1,082 albums, equalling 14,235 tracks, growing regularly.
Music Online: Jazz Music LibraryThis link opens in a new windowMusic Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for LibrariesThis link opens in a new windowSmithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Naxos Music Library (streaming music)This link opens in a new windowLibrary of classical music.Mobile app:1.Log into NML on a computer and sign up on the institution Playlist Page.2. After completing the Sign Up Form, you will receive an email. Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in that email.3. Download the app from your respective store – App Store for iOS and Google Play for Android devices.4. Log in with your email address and password that you just created.
Streaming Video Resources
BBC Shakespeare PlaysThis link opens in a new windowIncluded in the Ambrose Digital Library, 37 of Shakespeare's plays on streaming video.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert HallThis link opens in a new windowBerliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall live-broadcasts approximately 40 concerts every season, while providing access to hundreds of archived performances dating back to 1966. Also included are numerous documentaries and interviews, accessible on virtually any device in high definition format.
Some parts of site require free personal account.
Bloomsbury Video LibraryThis link opens in a new windowIncludes content in the areas of Architecture, Visual Art, Design / Fashion / New Media, Film and Cinema, Media and Television, Music, Performing art, Performance Art, Photography, and Theatre.
BroadwayHD CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis collection includes access to 19 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.The Broadway HD Collection allows users to watch and learn from writers, directors, and actors recognized by the Tony Awards® and the Pulitzer Prize®. Ideal for theatre, drama, music, and even literature studies, this anywhere-anytime collection includes recordings of premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.
Dance Online: Dance in VideoThis link opens in a new windowDance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Includes volumes I, II, and III.
Kanopy FilmsThis link opens in a new windowWatch over 30,000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films.
medici.tvThis link opens in a new windowOnline collection of classical music videos.
Met Opera on DemandThis link opens in a new windowThis resource provides access to more than 600 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970's, '80's, and '90's, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
Music Online: Classical Music in VideoThis link opens in a new windowMusic Online: Classical Music in Video, Volumes I - III deliver a rich collection of influential performances and documentaries spanning eras and demonstrating classical music’s dynamic evolution. From canonical masters of the past to modern composers, these volumes showcase the continuous evolution of classical music across time.
Music Online: Classical Performance in VideoThis link opens in a new windowMusic Online: Classical Performance in Video features performances, staged productions, interviews, and documentaries on classical music and opera. From canonical masters of the past to modern composers, this collection showcases the continuous evolution of classical music and opera across time, showcasing the world's top performers, conductors, and opera houses, are chosen based on their importance to the operatic and classical music canon, providing an unparalleled opportunity for students to study and analyze the work of some of the most renowned artists and ensembles. This collection combines: Music Online: Classical Music in Video, Vol. I Music Online: Opera in Video, Vol. I.
Opera in VideoThis link opens in a new windowOpera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
PBS Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection 5th Edition provides access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Swank Digital CampusThis link opens in a new windowUse "Student" login link if not registered with a Swank instructor account.Swank licenses and distributes feature film content to non-theatrical markets including U.S. colleges and universities. 1,000 contemporary and classic movies are available to MSU-affiliated viewers for non-commercial educational and personal streaming video access. Sub-title captioning is available on most films. Titles can be searched, and films are grouped in 17 categories for browsing.
Theatre in Video vol. IThis link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Dom Juan, Bérénice, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, Krapp's Last Tape, and the complete works of Shakespeare as produced by the BBC and other theatrical companies. Notable actors include Claire Bloom, Laurence Olivier, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and more. Instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging, and these landmark performances can become a permanent part of the curriculum.
Theatre in Video vol. IIThis link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II provides access to valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
