Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Statistics Resources for the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, and Belgium: General Sources

Find here web and print statistics resources on the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales), Ireland, France, and Belgium.

General Sources

Be sure to avail yourself of the statistics resources in the research guide here, particularly if you seek current information.

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2005   Reference HA 1107 .M5 2007

Covers population/vital statistics, labor, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport, communication, finance, prices, education, and national accounts statistics for European countries, 1750-2000.

Digging into Data

Reports on the international competition of the same name.  Has a section of links to online data repositories with representations of data from many countries and historical eras.  The List of Data Repositories is accessed from the link part way down the main page called "Digging Into Data Resources."  Then scroll down, on the page you are taken to, to the link "View All."

CESSDA

CESSDA offers a union catalogue of European data archives used by social science researchers.  Their data catalogue contains the metadata of the data of the holdings of the service providers.  They offer advice and training for researchers.  Most countries will require registration and/or fees to use their data. 

Country Statistics from UNICEF

Choose country of interest and find stats on child mortality rates, nutrition, health, education, demographics, protection, disparities, etc. about children all over the world.

Eurobarometer

Eurobarometer is a series of public opinion surveys conducted regularly on behalf of the European Commission since 1973. These surveys address a wide variety of topical issues relating to the European Union throughout its member states.  The Eurobarometer results are published by the European Commission's Director General Communication.  Its database since 1973 is one of the largest in the world. The surveys are conducted by TNS Opinion. These qualitative studies investigate in-depth the motivations, feelings and reactions of selected social groups towards a given subject or concept, by listening to and analysing their way of expressing themselves in discussion groups or with non-directive interviews. Try clicking on "Public Opinion and": this offers both chronological and alphabetical lists of surveys they have done.  The site has a link to its Archives. 

European Data Portal

The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries. Information regarding the provision of data and the benefits of re-using data is also included. Open (Government) Data refers to the information collected, produced or paid for by the public bodies (also referred to as Public Sector Information) and made freely available for re-use for any purpose. The licence will specify the terms of use. These principles for Open Data are described in detail in the Open Definition. Public sector information is information held by the public sector.

European Social Survey

The European Social Survey (ESS) is a biennial cross-national survey of attitudes and behaviour (opinion research) established in 2001. The ESS uses cross-sectional, probability samples which are representative of all persons aged 15 and over resident within private households in each country.  Practically all European countries participate and help with funding. The topics covered at least once by the ESS since its inception in 2001 include media and social trust, politics, subjective well-being, gender, household, socio-demographics, human values, immigration, citizen involvement, health and care, economic morality, family, work and well-being, timing of life, personal and social well-being, welfare attitudes, ageism, trust in justice, democracy, health inequalities, climate change and energy use, justice and fairness, and digital social contacts.

European Statistics and Data

By Sarah How, Cornell University.  Online and selected print resources for West, Central and Eastern Europe.  Sections: Indexes/Guides, Statistical Agencies, International and Supranational Bodies, Historical Statistics, Other Guides, Assorted Topics.

Eurostat

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics and data on Europe. Eurostat produces European statistics in partnership with National Statistical Institutes and other national authorities in the EU Member States. This partnership is known as the European Statistical System (ESS). It also includes the statistical authorities of the European Economic Area (EEA) countries and Switzerland.  For overall European stats try typing into the general search box "regio database."   For country specific data, type in names of countries.  In Aug., 2020, results for United Kingdom were still there.  You can also browse by mousing over the "Publications" tab and choosing different kinds of publications.  Eurostat: Statistics Explained might also be useful.

ICPSR:Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

Curated collection of statistical information maintained by the University of Michigan.  Access to over 500,000 datasets from more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations.  More focussed on sociopolitical research compared to the strongly economic focus of ProQuest Statistical Insight (above).  Some of the information is freely available.  Browse by topic, series, geographic place, investigator, theme.

IPUMS

IPUMS, from University of Minnesota, provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation allows researchers to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.  They are funded by grants.  They cooperate with national statistical agencies, national archives, and genealogical organizations. Their signature activity is harmonizing variable codes and documentation to be fully consistent across datasets.  Browsing is possible.  Users need to register with them.

Making Data Meaningful

Four PDF practical guides to help managers, statisticians and media relations officers in statistical organizations use text and visualizations to bring statistics to life for non-statisticians; find the best way to get their message across or define strategies for improving statistical literacy. Site is from UNECE, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, set up in 1947 to promote pan-European economic integration. UNECE includes 56 member states in Europe, North America and Asia.

National Statistical Offices and Central Banks Archive

The Archive aims to preserve country statistical office and central bank websites that often contain ephemeral statistical data on topics such as economic conditions, population, education, housing, environmental conditions, transportation, health, social services, vital statistics, and more.  The  collection was developed by librarians at Dartmouth College, the University of Pennsylvania, and Princeton University in partnership (as the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation) with Brown University, Cornell University, Duke University, Johns Hopkins University, Harvard University, and Yale University.  The curators are at Dartmouth, Penn, Princeton, and Yale.  In the tab "Explore Collections" there is a search box.  Suggest start search by name of country.

Our World in Data

A database of data databases.  Created by Max Roser, economist, Oxford University and staff.  Topics: population, health, energy, environment, growth and inequality, education, politics. 

Princeton University Library Data and Statistical Services

 Bobray Bordelon, specialist there.  Offers a mixture of websites that are free and not freely available.  Organization is by topic, country, region, and format.  Primarily by country. 

U.K.  Data Service ELSST

European Language Social Science Thesaurus (ELSST) is a broad-based, multilingual thesaurus for the social sciences. It is currently available in 14 languages: Danish, Dutch, Czech, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Romanian, Slovenian, Spanish, and Swedish. ELSST was originally developed in 2000 as part of the EU-funded LIMBER project. It has been enhanced and extended through additional funding from the ESRC, the University of Essex, and through subsequent EU grants.  Purpose is to help users with subject terms in different languages. 

World Inequality Database

Database of the world's historical and current distribution of wealth and incomes within and between countries.  Coordinated by an executive committee of five co-directors from the Paris School of Economics and University of California Berkeley, with assistance from World Inequality Lab.  Data included comes from national accounts, survey data, fiscal data, wealth rankings. 

Michigan State University