Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Michigan Statistics: Health & Social Services

Sources for statistics about the State of Michigan.

Health & Social Services

Michigan Department of Community Health
This page from the Michigan Department of Community Health includes information on vital statistics, community health statistics, communicable diseases, cancer statistics, health care statistics, population trends, birth defects, and other published reports and surveys.

Michigan Critical Health Indicators
This report describes Michigan's health and well-being and establishes a method for monitoring improvement.  The report is organized by 17 specific health topics, and their 42 related measures or indicators.
Print reports are available in Government Documents, Michigan Documents Collection at RA407.4 .M5 C75.

Michigan Department of Human Services
Includes statistics on adoption, child care fund, child support, children's protective services, earned income, and trend reports.  Also available are annual reports and the Green Book.

Annual Report of Key Program Statistics
Annualized version of the Green Book. 
For historical statistics please note the program name changes: data on state income maintenance programs were prepared by the Michigan Department of Social Services until 1995.  Then the newly named Michigan Family Indepenedence Agency resumed publication in 1996 up until 2004.  From 2005 to present the reports are published by the Department of Human Services.
Print reports are available in Government Documents, Michigan Documents Collection at HV86 .M5363.

Green Book
Key Program Statistics (Statewide and County Summaries) monthly updates.  Previously known as Monthly Assistance Payment Statistics.
Print reports are available in Government Documents, Michigan Documents Collection at HV86 .M57.

Michigan League for Human Services
"The Michigan League for Human Services is a statewide policy group that uses data to educate the public and inform policymakers about issues important to low-income people."  Go to the Publications and Reports page for statistical reports.

Kids Count in Michigan Data Book
County profiles of child well-being.
Print reports from previous years are available in Government Documents, Michigan Documents Collection at HQ792.M5 M5.

Michigan Office of Services to the Aging
While there is no direct link to statistical information, check the Resource Library for documents and publications that may contain statiscal tables. 

Annual Reports
Typically contain a section with program data.
Print reports are available in Government Documents, Michigan Documents Collection at HV1468.M5 M54.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Look here for FastStats on Michigan and related links.

Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion - State Profile
Includes links to surveys and statistics on disease and health related issues.

National Center for Health Statistics - State Profiles

 

More Michigan Health Statistics

For additional Michigan health resources, please visit the Health Statistics and Data Research Guide.

CDC Health Information

Data And Statistics


CDC Data and Statistics Widget. Flash Player 9 is required.
CDC Data and Statistics Widget.
Flash Player 9 is required.

Michigan State University