LibGuides: Michigan Statistics: Indexes & General Sources

Regional Resources

Tri-County Regional Planning Commission
Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham counties. The TCRPC supports the region of mid-Michigan by planning for and coordinating intergovernmental solutions to growth-related problems, providing technical assistance to local governments and meeting the needs of communities across the region.
Southeastern Michigan Council of Governments
Your connection to information on Southeast Michigan. Access interactive databases and mapping applications featuring demographic, transportation, economic, land use, and public safety information.
Data Driven Detroit
Data Driven Detroit (D3) provides accessible, high-quality information and analysis to drive informed decision-making to strengthen communities in Southeast Michigan.
Northwest Michigan Council of Governments
This web page provides access to statistics for the counties, townships, cities, villages and schools located in northwest lower Michigan; some data for the entire State of Michigan, and links to other Internet-based data sources.
Northeast Michigan Council of Governments
GIS and Census data for Alcona county, Alpena county, Cheboygan county, Crawford county, Montmorency county, Oscoda county, Otsego county, and Presque Isle county.
West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development Commission
The WMSRDC is a federal and state designated regional planning and development agency serving 127 local governments in Lake, Mason, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, and northern Ottawa Counties.
East Michigan Council of Governments
Serving the Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Ogemaw, Roscommon, Saginaw, Sanilac, Tuscola Counties, and the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe.

Introduction

Sources of statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources.

General Sources

US State Statistical Overviews: Michigan by Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Over 200 dynamic statistical tables which can be sorted by topic, or searched within.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013-present)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-present)
The first source for statistics on all aspects of population, economy and society in the United States. Annual publication 1878-present. Although emphasis in the Statistical Abstract is primarily given to national data, many tables present data for regions and individual states and a smaller number for metropolitan areas and cities. Also available in print (1878-present).

Statistical Reference Books

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book by U.S. Census Bureau
Publication Date: 1979-2010
Features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources. Information in the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans.
County and City Data Book by U.S. Census Bureau
Publication Date: 1949-2007
The most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. Information in the County and City Data Book covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use.
Citizen's Research Council Almanac
Publication Date: 2008
The Citizens Research Council of Michigan is a privately funded, not-for-profit public affairs research organization.
CQ's state fact finder by Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Call Number: HN60 .C68
Historical statistics of the states of the United States : two centuries of the census, 1790-1990 by Donald B. Dodd
Call Number: HA214 .H57 1993
Reference Desk, 1 Center
Michigan Statistical Abstract by Michigan Employment Security Commission
Call Number: HA441 .M53
Reference Desk, 1 Center
Although outdated this book still points to relevant sources of information and provides historical facts.
Profiles of Michigan by Grey House Pub.
Call Number: HT123.5.M5 P76
Latest edition in Reference, 1 Center
Includes county and place profiles, rankings and comparisons. Sections on education, ancestry, Hispanic population, Asian population, climate, and demographic and reference maps.
State profiles : the population and economy of each U.S. state by Bernan Press U.S. Databook Series
Call Number: HA203 .S734
Reference Desk, 1 Center
State Rankings by Morgan Quitno Corp.
Call Number: HA203 .U17
Reference Desk, 1 Center

Subject Guide

Julia Ezzo

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

517-884-6387

Subjects: Government Information, Law, Packaging, Political Science, Public Policy

Statistical Indexes & Databases

Major Statistical Indexes & Databases
Link to guide with descriptions of the major multidisciplinary subscription statistical indexes and databases at the MSU Libraries

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides