LibGuides: Library Resources for Public Health: Finding Articles

Databases

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
1966-
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.
Global Health including Archive This link opens in a new window
Global Health is a specialist international public health database. It includes significant unique content particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology. It contains abstracts from international publications and the Global Health Archive 1912-1983.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This full-text database covers all aspects of health policy and related issues.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1937 -
CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. Additional items indexed include nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons are also included.
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments indexes journal articles that include both free and fee-based information-gathering instruments for clinicians such as tests, questionnaires, and scales. HaPI covers tests used in nursing, psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.

Locating Journals at MSU

To find a particular journal, enter the journal title into the Books & Media search.

The results will show whether or not the library subscribes to the journal and has the issue that you need, in a print or digital format.

If the article you need is only available in print, or if MSU does not subscribe to the journal, you can request the article via Interlibrary Services.

If MSU has the article in print, select the "Request a Chapter/Article Scan" under the "Items Owned by MSU" tab.