Special Collections has many resources related to Native Americans. This web page will attempt to list some of them.
Native Americans in Michigan : An Annotated Bibliography of Materials Available in the Central Michigan University Clarke Historical Library / Compiled by Evelyn Leasher, Robert Hendershot, Michael Phillips, and Jennifer Wood. The Clarke Historical Library holdings are particularly rich in materials on the Native Americans of Michigan. Included in this bibliography are books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps and graphics on the subject. Because traditional tribal boundaries are not codeterminus with contemporary state borders, some of the material listed in this bibliography has a wider geographic focus than Michigan, but the emphasis is on Michigan.
Native Americans in Michigan : The University of Michigan Bentley Historical Librlary also has extensive materials related to the history of Native Americans in Michigan.
Archives of Michigan Circular 30 describes their Native American collections which are primarily state records.
Native American Genealogy Materials at the Library of Michigan.
Portals to the Past : A Bibliographical and Resource Guide to Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Russell M. Magnaghi. Be sure to check out the Native American and Metis section starting onpage 115 and focusing on Native Americans in the Upper Peninsula. Courtesy of the Northern Michigan University Library.
For a complete list of all comic books, strips, etc. about American Indians in Special Collections , search
The 500 years of resistance comic book / Gord Hill ; [introduction, Ward Churchill]. Vancouver : Arsenal Pulp Press, c2010. 87pp. Comic Art E59.G6 H54 2010 : "A powerful and historically accurate graphic portayal of Indigenous resistance to the European colonization of the Americas, beginning with the Spanish invasion under Christopher Columbus." "Other events depicted include the 1680 Pueblo Revolt in New Mexico; the Inca insurgency in Peru from the 1500s to the 1780s; Pontiac and the 1763 Rebellion & Royal Proclamation; Geronimo and the 1860s Seminole Wars; Crazy Horse and the 1877 War on the Plains; the rise of the American Indian Movement in the 1960s; 1973's Wounded Knee; the Mohawk Oka Crisis in Quebec in 1990; and the 1995 Aazhoodena/Stoney Point resistance."
Comanche moon, a picture narrative about Cynthia Ann Parker : her twenty-five year captivity among the Comanche Indians and her son, Quanah Parker, the last chief of the Comanches / written and illustrated by Jack Jackson ; introd. by T.R. Fehrenbach. San Francisco, CA : Rip Off Press, c1979. 119pp. Comic Art E99.C85 P374 1979 : Presents the story of a white child raised by Indians in captivity and of her son, who became the last chief of the Comanche Indians.
High lonesome / Jason Aaron, writer ; R.M. Guéra, Davide Furnò, Francesco Francavilla, artists ; Giulia Brusco, colorist ; Steve Wands, letterer. New York : DC Comics, c2009. Comic Art PN6777.G78 S3505 2009 : Jason Aaron, the hot new writer of the critically acclaimed limited series, The Other Side, teams with gritty artist R.M. Guéra for an intense crime drama that mixes organized crime with current Native American culture. Fifteen years ago, Dashiell "Dash" Bad Horse ran away from a life of abject poverty and utter hopelessness on the Prairie Rose Indian Reservation searching for something better. Now he's come back home armed with nothing but a set of nunchucs, a hell-bent-for-leather attitude and one dark secret, to find nothing much has changed on "The Rez" - short of a glimmering new casino, and a once-proud people overcome by drugs and organized crime. Is he here to set things right or just get a piece of the action? In this volume, we see the landscape of the Prairie Rose reservation through the eyes of a newcomer - a card shark and con man - whose presence could spell doom for one of our main characters.
The illustrated story of Indians. New York, N.Y. : Gilberton, 1958. 80pp. Comic Art PN6728.2.G5 W6 no.2
Indian country / Jason Aaron, writer ; R.M. Guéra, artist ; Lee Loughridge, colorist ; Phil Balsman, letterer ; introduction by Brian K. Vaughan. New York : DC Comics, c2007. 124pp. Comic Art PN6777.G78 S3501 2007 : Dash Bad Horse has returned to his childhood reservation to enforce the law, and as an undercover FBI agent, investigates the corruption and violence fronted by the casino owner, Lincoln Red Crow.
Moonshot: The Indigenous Comics Collection / edited by Hope Nicholson. [Toronto] : Alternate History Comics, , Comic Art PN6777.G78 PN6732 .M63 2015 : MOONSHOT The Indigenous Comics Collection brings together dozens of creators from North America to contribute comic book stories showcasing the rich heritage and identity of indigenous storytelling. From traditional stories to exciting new visions of the future, this collection presents some of the finest comic book and graphic novel work on the continent. MOONSHOT is an incredible collection that will amaze, intrigue and entertain! MOONSHOT includes work by 28 writers and artists, including: Claude St-Aubin (R.E.B.E.L.S., Green Lantern, Captain Canuck), Jeffrey Veregge (G.I. Joe, Judge Dredd), Stephen Gladue (MOONSHOT cover artist), Haiwei Hou (Two Brothers), Nicholas Burns (Arctic Comics, Curse of Chucky, Super Shamou), Jon Proudstar (Tribal Force), George Freeman (Captain Canuck, Aquaman, Batman), Elizabeth LaPensee (Survivance, The Nature of Snakes, Fala), Buffy Sainte-Marie (Fire & Fleet & Candlelight, Coincidence & Likely Stories), Richard Van Camp (Path of the Warrior, Kiss Me Deadly), Fred Pashe (SpiritWolf), David Robertson (The Evolution of Alice, Stone), Michael Sheyahshe (Native Americans in Comic Books, Dark Owl), David Cutler (The Northern Guard), Menton J. Matthews III (Monocyte, Memory Collectors, Three Feathers), Jay Odjick (Kagagi: The Raven), Ian Ross (Heart of a Distant Tribe, Bereav'd of Light, An Illustrated History of the Anishinabe), Lovern Kindzierski (X-Men, Wolverine, Incredible Hulk, Thor, Spiderman), Arigon Starr (Super Indian, Indigenous Narratives Collective) and more!.
Peace Party. Culver City, CA : Blue Corn Comics, c1999- Comic Art PN6728.6.B5954 P4 : A multicultural comic book featuring Native Americans. Two young heroes fight everything from prejudice and pollution to supervillains and the supernatural.
Red : a Haida manga / Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas. Vancouver ; Berkeley, Calif. : Douglas & McIntyre, 2010, c2009. 108pp. Comic Art PN6733.Y3 R4 2010 : Referencing a classic Haida oral narrative, this stunning full-colour graphic novel documents the tragic story of a leader so blinded by revenge that he leads his community to the brink of war and destruction. Red is the prideful leader of a small village in the islands of the northwest coast of British Columbia. His sister was abducted by a band of raiders. When the news comes that his sister has been spotted in a nearby village, Red sets out to rescue her and exact revenge on her captors."
Redeye : [daily syndicate proof sheets] / by Gordon Bess. [New York] : King Features Syndicate. Comic Art oversize PN6726.K52 R36 - Note : stored in Remote, requires advanced notice to retrieve.
Super Indian : Volume One. West Hollywood, CA : Wacky Productions Unlimited,  Comic Art PN6727.S714 S8 2012 : "Hubert Logan was an ordinary Reservation Boy until he ate tainted commodity cheese infused with 'Rezium,' a secret government food enrichment additive. Known as 'Super Indian,' Hubert fights evil forces who would overtake the Reservation's resources and population. Assisted by his trusty sidekicks Mega Bear and Diogi, they fight crime the way they know how , with strength, smarts and humor."
Super Indian : Volume Two. West Hollywood, CA : Wacky Productions Unlimited,  Comic Art PN6727.S714 S8 2012PN6727.S714 S802 2015 Contains the further adventures of Hubert Logan, a reservation boy who ate tainted commodity cheese and gained super powers. Hubert becomes Super Indian and fights evil forces that bring danger to the Leaning Oak Reservation. Super Indian and his sidekicks Mega Bear and Diogi face the ruthless Blud KwanTum, a vampire who wants to become a full-blood Indian at any cost.
Tales of the Mighty Code Talkers. Native Realities. on order : Based on the true stories of the Native American Code Talkers this incredible graphic novel features nine original stories by Native American artists and writers documenting the heroic tales of Code Talkers from World War I through Korea. The graphic novel also features a history of the Code Talkers and a lesson plan for teachers who wish to use the book to teach students about the struggle and accomplishments of these Native American heroes.
Tribal Force. Native Realities. on order : In the Diné belief there are Five Worlds of existence. These worlds are bared from mortals. Nita Nitaal Nakia is the first to break the boundaries placed by the gods. What she sees as dreams or nightmares are glimpses into possible futures, parallel realities, mirrors of uncountable existences. With an inexhaustible array of possible endings, the unique factor presented before her is the last spoke in the wheel of reality. The last chance for everything to go right. With the wrong outcome as the end of human civilization as we know it. Will the heroes of Tribal Force overcome the darkness which has permeated the last bastion of hope for mankind? Get your copy today to find out!
Trickster : Native American tales : a graphic collection / edited by Matt Dembicki. Golden, Colo. : Fulcrum Pub., c2010. 231pp. Comic Art E98.F6 T73 2010 : Collects over twenty trickster stories, in graphic novel format, from various Native American traditions, including tales about coyotes, rabbits, ravens, and other crafty creatures and their mischievous activities.
White Comanche : a picture narrative about Cynthia Ann Parker and her 25 year captivity among the Comanche Indians, lords of the southern plains / written and illustrated by Jaxon. Berkeley, Calif. : Last Gasp, 1977. 32pp. Comic Art PN6728.45.L3 W47
Wool of Jonesy. Native Realities. on order : Written and illustrated by Diné artist Jonathan Nelson, The Wool of Jonesy #1 tells the first story of Jonesy the Sheep and his adventures out on the rez. As Jonesy heads out to explore life after high school he finds himself discovering and dreaming. The wonderfully illustrated story gives young and old alike a simple and enchanting view of reservation life through the eyes of an amazing character!
Related items of possible interest:
Indian Comics Irregular : Learn what's happening at the intersection of pop culture and Indian country. Includes news, reviews, and the latest from Blue Corn Comics.
Comic Books Featuring Indians compiled by Todd Tamanend Clark and Rob Schmidt, 11/21/00.
Native Americans in comic books : a critical study / Michael A. Sheyahshe. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2008. 215pp. Main Library and Comic Art E99.H77 S54 2008 : "This work addresses a range of portrayals of the Native American people, from the bloodthirsty barbarians and noble savages of dime novels, to secondary characters and sidekicks, and, occasionally, protagonists sans paternal white hero, examining how and why Native Americans have been marginalized and misrepresented in comics"
The role of the Indian in the western comic book / Vicki A. Green. 1992. 38pp. Comic Art PN6725.G678 R6 1992
Scalped : the system and symptoms of comics with Native American Subjects/subjects / Kelly Helms. 2010. 18pp. Comic Art PN6725.H395 S35 2010
American Indian activism : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
American Indian Information and Action Group : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
American Indian Movement : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Americans for Indian Opportunity : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Bear Tribe Medicine Society : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Center for the History of the American Indian : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Denver Native Americans United : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
National Congress of American Indians : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Native American Rights Fund : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Native Americans : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Pacific Northwest Indian Center : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Survival of American Indians Association : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Wounded Knee Legal Defense/Offense Committee : file of clippings and miscellanea. (American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF))
Akwesasne notes. (Cornwall Island Reserve, Rooseveltown, N.Y.) 2:3-5:6,6:1-10:5,11:1-16:6,17:1-21:6,22:1-23:4;n.s. 1:1-2:2 (1970-1992/1995-1997) E77 .A37 : Official publication of the Mohawk Nation at Akwesasne (People of the Longhouse) and contains (from time to time) Longhouse news, the official publication of the Mohawk Nation at Kanawake." Note: 1-ser.2 v.2 (1971-1996) available on microfilm under the number 15154. Also available online through Ethnic Newswatch.
Detroit Indian Center Newsletter Detroit, Mich. : North American Indian Assoc. of Detroit, Inc., 1976. .6:no.2 (Feb. 1976)- v.6:no.10 (Nov. 1976) E78.M6 N67
Indian Times (Denver, Colorado) 9:10,10:1-10:5 (1969-1970) E77 .I52 : newspaper of the White Buffalo Council of American Indians.
Lac du Flambeau news : news from the Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (Lac du Flambeau, WI ) 4:9,4:11,5:3-5:4,5:7-6:2 (1996-1998) E78.W8 L3
Many Smokes (Spokane, Washington) 4:1-8:3,9:1-12:3,13:1-16:3,17:1-17:3,18:1-18:2 (1968-1984) E77 .M3 : magazine of the Medicine Chief of the Bear Tribe Medicine Society. Note : continued by Wildfire.
The Native People (Alberta, Canada) 2-14 (1969-1981) oversize E78.A34 N3
Native sun / Detroit Indian Center. Detroit, Mich. : N.A.I.A. of Detroit, Inc., Detroit Indian Center, 1976-1991. Radicalism Collection E78.M6 N67 Click on catalog link for holdings.
News from Indian country : the journal. Hayward, Wis. : Indian Country Communications, Inc., 1988- Radicalism Collection E75 .N4 : Click on catalog link for holdings.
Northwest Indian News. (Seattle, WA) 2:4-10:11 (1972:10:4-1980:11) oversize E75 .N6
Oneida Indian Nation Newsletter. Radicalism Collection E99.O45 O55 : Single issue available 7:2 (1996)
Rainbow People (Gresham, Oregon) 1:1-1:5 (1970-1971?) Radicalism Collection oversize E75 .C45 : "The complete truth by and about North American Indians, written for non-Indians." Formed by union of : Cherokee examiner, and: Longhouse news and Rosebud Sioux herald ; earlier titles continue to appear as separate sections within new title. Section called "Cherokee examiner" separately numbers, continuing numbering of its independent predecessor.
The Sault Tribe News Sault St. Marie, MI : Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, 2000- Some in Remote Storage; some in Special Collections. E99.C6 W5
Speaking of Ourselves Cass Lake, Minn. : Minnesota Chippewa Tribe. v.1:no.6-v.8:no.1 (1975:2-1981:12) E77 .S7
Tribal Observer. Mt. Pleasant, MI : Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe, [197-]- Radicalism Collection E99.C6 T74 Click on catalog link for holdings.
Tribal Spokesman (Sacramento, California) 5:3 (1973) E78.C15 T7 : A newspaper issued by the Inter-Tribal Council of California
Wildfire (Spokane, Washington) 1:2-6:3 (1984-1993) E77 .W54 : magazine of the Medicine Chief of the Bear Tribe Medicine Society. Note : continues Many Smokes.
Win awenen nisitotam = He who understands Sault Ste. Marie, Mich. : Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. Radicalism Collection oversize E99.C6 W5 Click on catalog link for holdings.
Win awenen nisitotung = He who understands. Sault Ste. Marie, Mich. : Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, 1982-2000. Radicalism Collection Oversize E99.C6 W5 Click on catalog link for holdings.
Related items of possible interest:
American Indian periodicals in the Princeton University Library [microform]. New York, N.Y. : Clearwater Pub. Co., - 3 microfilm reels + 2,690 microfiche MSU Microforms (2 West) 28922 Microfilm and PN4883 .A43 1981 Microfiche : Accompanied by title guide: Z1209 B83 1980z pt.1-2 94 titles of the Princeton University collection are reproduced on microfiche (MFICHE 607) and can be found in Current Periodicals/Microtext Collection Pt. 1. The Arrow. Tushkahomman. (2 reels) -- pt. 2. Nishnawbe News, 1971-1982 (1 reel).
Check out the Shaping the Values of Youth : Sunday School Books in 19th Century America collection. Individual books in this collection grapple with the problematic issues of slavery, African-Americans, and Native Americans.
George Catlin's souvenir of the North American Indians : a facsimile of the original album / with an introductory essay and chronology by William H. Truettner. Tulsa, Okla. : Gilcrease Museum, 2003. 100pp. Special Collections XX oversize E77 .C38 2003
National Museum of the American Indian : a souvenir book. [Washington, D.C.] : National Geographic Society, c2004. 63pp. Popular Culture Collection E98.A7 N35 2004 : "Published in conjunction with the opening of the museum on the National Mall of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, Washington, D.C., September 21, 2004"
The North American Indian : being a series of volumes picturing and describing the Indians of the United States and Alaska / written, illustrated, and published by Edward S. Curtis ; edited by Frederick Webb Hodge ; foreword by Theodore Roosevelt ; field research conducted under the patronage of J. Pierpont Morgan. [Seattle, Wash.] : Edward S. Curtis, 1907-1930. 20 volumes. XX oversize E77 .C97 (Also available online) : Contents: I. The Apache. The Jicarillas. The Navaho -- II. The Pima. The Papago. The Qahatika. The Mohave. The Yuma. The Maricopa. The Walapai. The Havasupai. The Apache-Mohave, or Yavapai -- III. The Teton Sious. The Yanktonai. The Assiniboin -- IV. The Apsaroke, or Crows. The Hidatsa -- V. The Mandan. The Arikara. The Atsina -- VI. The Piegan. The Cheyenne. The Arapaho -- VII. The Yakima. The Klickitat. Salishan tribes of the interior. The Kutenai -- VIII. The Nez Percés. Wallawalla. Umatilla. Cayuse. The Chinookan tribes -- IX. Salishan tribes of the coast. The Chimakum and the Quilliute. The Willapa -- X. The Kwakiutl -- XI. The Nootka. The Haida -- XII. The Hopi -- XIII. The Hupa. The Yurok. The Karok. The Wiyot. Tolowa and Tututni. The Shasta. The Achomawi. The Klamath -- XIV. The Kato. The Wailaki. The Yuki. The Pomo. The Wintun. The Maidu. The Miwok. The Yokuts -- XV. Southern California Shoshoneans. The Diegueños. Plateau Shoshoneans. The Washo -- XVI. The Tiwa. The Keres -- XVII. The Tewa. The Zuñi -- XVIII. The Chipewyan. The Western woods Cree. The Sarsi -- XIX. The Indians of Oklahoma. The Wichita. The southern Cheyenne. The Oto. The Comanche. The Peyote cult -- XX. The Alaskan Eskimo. The Nunivak. Eskimo of Hooper Bay. Eskimo of King island. Eskimo of Little Diomede Island. Eskimo of Cape Prince of Wales. The Kotzebue Eskimo. The Noatak. The Kobuk. The Selawik.