Irish History Online
Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains approximately 72,000 bibliographic records (January 2011). Material on Northern Ireland is included. IHO was established as an online database in 2003 with funding from the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences and was developed in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History. Since 2010 Irish History Online has been published separately from the Royal Historical Society bibliography. Irish History Online is now hosted by the Royal Irish Academy (Dublin). Irish History Online is compiled, managed and regularly updated by a small team of voluntary editors and compilers. Irish History Online includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings. Searches can be made by author/editor, by title or keyword from title, by subject, by journal title or series, or by publication details. Irish History Online is an essential resource for the study of Irish history at any level, and is free of charge to users.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
America History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada. It has selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. The database also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
MLA International Bibliography (through EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowLiterature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowThis is a portal to content about literature in ProQuest's databases of criticism, reference material (including biographical information), primary source poetry, drama, and prose, dissertations, book reviews. Includes audio of Arkangel's Shakespeare plays, a video archive of Poets on Screen reading their work, and an audio Poetry Archive of contemporary poets reading their work.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes. Useful for verifying bibliographical details, learning which libraries own which items, and widening one's search for book material on a topic.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) This link opens in a new windowThe 'English Short Title Catalogue' (ESTC) is an international project established at the British Library in 1977. Its aim is to create a machine-readable bibliography of books, serials, pamphlets and other ephemeral material printed in English-speaking countries from 1473 to 1800, based on the collections of over 2,000 institutions world-wide.In 2006, the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items: * published between 1473 and 1800 * mainly in Britain and North America * mainly, but not exclusively, in English * from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.The ESTC now also includes records for early English serials, annuals, newspapers, and news-books. The geographical scope for these is the same as for books, and coverage is from the beginning of serials printing (around 1620) through to the end of 1800.This version should be more up-to-date than the 2003 ed. but the search interface is different.This is not a full-text database; for full-texts see the electronic resources entry for Early English Books Online (EEBO)for imprints from 1470s through 1700 and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) for imprints from 1701-1800. There are links to these in the primary sources section of this research guide, in the multi-disciplinary sub-section.
Heritage of the Printed Book
Formerly called the Hand Press Book Database this is a unique and growing catalog of European printing in the early modern era or “hand-press period” (15th century to the 1830s). This resource integrates descriptive records for major European national, university and research library holdings. It is especially valuable for research in intellectual history, social history and transmission of thought—as well as the history of printing and the history of the book. Contains bibliographic references only. No full text. Gives library holdings. Thus it is similar in function to ESTC but the entries come from the OCLC database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracting service for American and some "foreign" dissertations and masters' theses back to 1861. Search just U.S. or U.S. and U.K. combined. Not comprehensive. Some dissertations may be borrowed via interlibrary loan. Or, you may need to approach the institution directly on your own; find their library and online catalogt and ask their online reference service. You can purchase copies of some dissertations for your personal library through this web site. Studying the bibliographies of dissertations of interest can be helpful.
ETHOS
Online index and full text of dissertations and theses from the majority of British universities. A developing resource. Searching is free. Requires individual registration to use it. Must pay to obtain full-text. Digitization upon request.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) This link opens in a new windowBiography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Results of searches in this resource provide citations to biographical entries in other biography reference works; look up the title of the work in our online catalog.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window1940-
Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in books and journals in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowBilingual, bibliographic database on the history of post-classical Western art. Abstracts are in French or English, and there are subject indexes in both languages. BHA covers literature on architecture, painting, sculpture, drawing, prints and decorative arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, and performance art from late antiquity (4thc. A.D.) to the present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only) This link opens in a new window1967-
Offers an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, including original language titles; title translations in English; full bibliographic information; abstracts in English; and author, journal, and subject indexes. Includes all forms of scholarly works.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics. It is updated monthly.
Content includes:
Full-text articles and reviews from over 480 journals (the Atla PLUS part)
Over 2.8 million records, including:
Indexing of 2300 plus journal titles in total, more than 1,000 of which are currently being indexed,
More than 276,000 essay records,
More than 940,000 review records,
More than 411,000 book records.
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism (the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), Atla CPLI content now enhances Atla RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis database covers all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials. EBSCOhost platform.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving
The Bibliography of Slavery is a searchable database containing verified references (except as noted) to approximately 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times. It includes all known print materials published since 1900 in scholarly formats, as well as digital scholarly journals, recent unpublished presentations at academic conferences, professional historical sites, and major museum exhibitions and catalogs.
IsisCB Cumulative: Open Access Bibliography for the History of Science, 1913-1975
This is a digitized version of the Isis Cumulative Bibliography of the History of Science, covering materials indexed from 1913-1975, on all topics in the history of science for all historical periods. There are seven large HTML files corresponding to the seven volumes of the printed bibliography issued during this period. It is a companion to IsisCB Explore, covering the files 1974 to present. Over 154,000 citations to 83,000 articles, 44,000 books, 20,000 reviews, 6,000 chapters. Made possible by Sloan Foundation, History of Science Society, University of Oklahoma Libraries, University of Oklahoma History of Science dept.
