Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowEighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contains digital versions of 150,000 works published or printed from 1701-1800 in England, and other English-speaking places around the world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies, and the early United States).
Look here to find full texts of primary source materials in history, geography, literature, language, religion, philosophy, social science, fine arts, music, architecture, medicine, science, technology, and law, as well as general reference works from the 18th century.
The database also includes works in other western European languages which were published or printed in England or other English-speaking places during this time.
Making of the Modern World, Parts I, II, and III This link opens in a new windowThe Making of the Modern World: Part I, The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 offers new ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines.
ESTC Eighteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue
The 'English Short Title Catalogue' (ESTC) is an international project established at the British Library in 1977. Its aim is to create a machine-readable bibliography of books, serials, pamphlets and other ephemeral material printed in English-speaking countries from 1473 to 1800, based on the collections of over 2,000 institutions world-wide.
In 2006, the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items: * published between 1473 and 1800 * mainly in Britain and North America * mainly, but not exclusively, in English * from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
The ESTC now also includes records for early English serials, annuals, newspapers, and news-books. The geographical scope for these is the same as for books, and coverage is from the beginning of serials printing (around 1620) through to the end of 1800.
This version should be more up-to-date than the 2003 ed. but the search interface is different.
This is not a full-text database; for full-texts see the electronic resources entry for Early English Books Online (EEBO)for imprints from 1470s through 1700 and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) for imprints from 1701-1800.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowEarly American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. This resource consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides. There is a vast set of microcards called Early American Imprints; not all were digitized. Selections for both resources come from Charles Evans' American Bibliography.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new windowJoseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time has been heralded as a cornerstone in the study of the history of the Western Hemisphere. Gale’s Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 takes the works currently captured from that bibliography and makes them available online.
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new windowDelve into the earliest voyages of Vasco da Gama, the opening of trade with the Spice Islands, the colonisation of the Americas and Australasia, the search for the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and finally the race for the Poles with this robust primary source collection. Featuring rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs from some of the most well-known voyages in history, this collection provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920.
Making of the Modern World, Parts I, II, and III This link opens in a new windowThe Making of the Modern World: Part I, The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 offers new ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines.
The Making of the Modern World: Part II, 1851-1914 traces the progress of the 19th century nations' rapidly changing economies.
The Making of the Modern World: Part III, 1890-1945 is comprised exclusively of monographs and periodicals in the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature, which is held at the Senate House Library of the University of London, offering transnational coverage in an area of vital interest to historians—political economy. The works included are of interest to scholars in European and world history and meet the desire for more twentieth century content taking the collection past the First World War, the Great Depression, and the Second World War.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition is an online collection of resources about individuals from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. It contains more than 7,000 available databases like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, and photos. International collections continue to grow with more than 46 million records from German censuses, vital records, emigration indexes, ship lists, phone directories, and more; Chinese surnames in the large and growing Jiapu Collection of Chinese lineage books; Jewish family history records from Eastern Europe and Russia; and more. Military collections deliver over 150 million records containing information often not found elsewhere and includes records from the colonial to the Vietnam era.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. There are now more than 60 partner libraries. For more information, see http://www.hathitrust.org/access.
Google Books Advanced Search
Google Books (previously known as Google Book Search and Google Print) is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database. A click on a result from Google Books opens an interface in which the user may view pages from the book, if out of copyright or if the copyright owner has given permission. Books in the public domain are available in "full view" and free for download. Most scanned works are no longer in print or commercially available. For those which are, the site provides links to the website of the publisher and booksellers. Iincludes some periodicals. In the Advanced search it is possible to specify content "magazines."
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Explore the daily lives of people from major world cultures throughout history, as presented in their own words. Bringing useful and engaging material into world history classrooms, this rich collection of historical documents and illustrations provides insight into major cultures from all continents. Hundreds of thematically organized, annotated primary documents, and over 100 images introduce aspects of daily life throughout the world, including domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present.
English Historical Documents This link opens in a new windowEnglish Historical Documents Online is the online version of a significant set of print books (Main DA 25 .E55 or .E56). The database contains copies of over 5,500 primary source documents from the British government. Documents about all aspects of life are represented: society, economics, labor, education, politics, military/war, diplomacy, administration, religion, culture, health, etc. Search for particular documents by their title or by names of persons associated with their creation. Browse by date, theme, or place.
