LibGuides: Eighteenth-Century Studies: Online Resources: l1. Slavery and Afro-Americana

ll. Slavery and Afro-Americana

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: A Database on CD-ROM contains the records of 27,233 transatlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866 from all over Europe. The disk contains software that allows users to process data by the time periods and geographic regions of their choice. It also permits the downloading of data in SPSS format for use in other programs. Interactive maps that allow users to establish the structure of transatlantic connections are also included. The accompanying data set contains incomplete data for 226 fields of information for each voyage. This resource is on CD with call number HT 1322 .T74 1999 in the Digital and Multimedia unit (DMC), 4th floor, West Wing.

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Mostly Post 18th c. interest on Afro-America. Has 22 items on topics prior to 1825: education and slavery.
African American Poetry, 1760-1900 This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.
British Records on the Atlantic World 1700-1900 This link opens in a new window
This series from Microform Academic Publishers includes archival materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers over a two hundred year period, all related to British involvement in the Atlantic region, including both Africa and the Americas. Alongside the records of Liverpool merchants involved in the infamous Triangular Trade, there are those of slave plantation owners, of early Anglican missionaries, of naval and customs officials, and of a group of socialists from Lancashire, who maintained a lengthy correspondence over many years with the father of American poetry.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Eighteenth-Century Studies: Online Resources: l1. Slavery and Afro-Americana

ll. Slavery and Afro-Americana