Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Philosophy?
If you are new to philosophy or just interested in the topic, try some of these resources for a basic introduction.
Philosophy: A Brief Guide for Undergraduates
This document prepared by the American Philosophical Association introduces philosophy both as a subject of inquiry and an academic discipline.
The British Journal of the Philosophy of Science
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a comprehensive web-based encyclopedia of philosophy terms and concepts from all areas of the discipline, including entries on individual philosophers. Articles are extensive, written by experts in each particular topic, and edited and reviewed by subject editors.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Online version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy including updates on recent issues of interest to philosophers, new entries and factual updates.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive open access index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
PhilSci-Archive is an electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science.
The Philosopher's Index is the major database for academic philosophy. It is a bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature indexed goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
Electronic Access Journals