LibGuides: Appeasement: Great Britain in the 1930s: Biographical Information

Biographical Information

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Reference DA 28 .O95 2004
The is the major biographical dictionary for major figures in British life who are deceased. Very scholarly, with further reading references at the conclusion of the articles. Now available both online and on paper.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) This link opens in a new window
If you can't find the person you seek in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography look here. Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Look up the source you find here in our online catalog.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Caveats

For books about a significant person do a subject search last name, first name in the MSU Libraries' online catalog. For books by a significant person do an author search last name, first name inthe MSU Libraries' online catalog. For many of the persons significant in the 1930s we will have many books by and about the individuals. In choosing, be guided by books recommended in entry about the person in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and in the entries in the other encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies above to choose the best titles. For example, see the "Memoirs and Biographies" section, p. 104- of British Foreign Policy, 1918-1945 and the "Politicians" section, pp. 25-41 of Bibliography of British History.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Appeasement: Great Britain in the 1930s: Biographical Information

Biographical Information