LibGuides: Appeasement: Great Britain in the 1930s: Periodical and Newspaper Indexes; Online Newspapers; Other Online Primary Sources

Periodical and Newspaper Indexes; Online Newspapers; Other Online Primary Sources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly historical articles about the Modern period (1450 to the present) on Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will likely be 4-5 years old. Reading older journal issues on a topic can help the researcher understand how the topic has been viewed and studied in the past.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
PAIS, Public Affairs Information Service, is a particularly good index for researching public policy and public affairs topics in the English language. It began in 1915, so covers the interwar period. Thus, it can be used to find primary source articles and books, as well as information written today about back then (secondary sources).
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. For online access to the London Times 1985 onwards, check the online catalog using a periodical title search for Times. It is also available on microfilm in the Hollander Make Central, 2nd floor West wing.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
Sunday edition of the London Times from 1822-2006, one of the world's most important English language newspapers. For the daily edition see Times Digital Archive 1785-2006, link just above here.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2007, contains every page of every issue of The Economist published from 1843 to 2007. It is a major British major news magazine today. Read about great events of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004

Popular journalism for busy, ordinary people. In addition to the news, there is reporting on new developments in science, technology, transportation, and communications, etc., the discoveries of the early 20th c. Women's concerns addressed. Interesting "Story of the Daily Mail" in the "Essays" section of the web site. Search or browse by date.

Telegraph Historical Archive

1855-2000 One of the world's highest circulating newspapers in the English language. Includes also the Sunday issues from 1961-2000. The BBC describes it as "the newspaper of the establishment." We also offer this newspaper post 2000, here.

Observer

1900-2003 from London

Manchester Guardian, 1821-1825; 1828-1900; 1901-1959;

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-1910

The world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century. Search or browse by date.

International Herald Tribune, 1887-2013

Complete archive from its inception as the European edition of the New York Herald and later the European edition of the New York Herald Tribune. Ends with last issue of International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as International New York Times.

How They Lived: an Annotated Tour of Daily Life Through History in Primary Sources

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Appeasement: Great Britain in the 1930s: Periodical and Newspaper Indexes; Online Newspapers; Other Online Primary Sources

Periodical and Newspaper Indexes; Online Newspapers; Other Online Primary Sources